Skip to main content

Joy McCann Professorship for Women in Medicine


In 2002 the School of Medicine's Women in Medicine and Science (WIMS) Program received an endowment from Joy McCann Culverhouse and Robert Daugherty, MD through the Joy McCann Foundation to establish a Joy McCann Professorship. The professorship is awarded to a female faculty member who has demonstrated leadership and mentoring of students, residents and fellow faculty members.

Grace Shih

Grace H. Shih, MD
2019-2022 Joy McCann Professor in Medicine and Science
Professor of Anesthesiology


Dr. Grace Shih was named the newest recipient of the 
University of Kansas Joy McCann Professorship for Women in Medicine by Robert Simari, MD, Executive Dean, KU School of Medicine. Dr. Shih's term will run through June 30, 2022. 

Dr. Shih's vision for the McCann professorship is to continue the legacy of the talented women who have received this professorship with regards to leadership, mentorship, and academic promotion. 

Previous University of Kansas Joy McCann Professors

Kim Templeton 2003 - 2006
Kimberly Templeton, MD, Associate Professor
Y Wan 2007 - 2010
Yu-Jui Yvonne Wan, Ph.D. Professor
S Pingleton 2010 - 2013
Susan K. Pingleton, MD, FACP, Master Fellow, ACCP
Mary 2013 - 2016
Mary Zimmerman, PhD Professor
Kim Richter

2016 - 2019
Kimber Richter, PhD, MPH Professor


For questions about the Joy McCann Professorship please contact Krista Wimberly.

Last modified: Jul 02, 2019

The McCann Professorship promotes and collaborates with the Women in Medicine & Science Program.

Women in Medicine & Science