Skip to main content

News and Events

Saint Onge receives IPUMS Health Surveys Research Award

Dr. Jarron Saint Onge, Department of Population Health, and co-authors Jeff Dennis and Justin Denney received the Integrated Public Use Microdata Series (IPUMS) Health Surveys Research Award, for best research using IPUMS data to deepen understanding of social and demographic processes in their article "Neighborhood Concentrated Disadvantage and Adult Mortality: Insights for Racial and Ethnic Differences." Population Research and Policy Review 37(2): 301-321

Ellis selected as Visiting Scholar

MHSA and PhD program faculty member Dr. Shellie Ellis was selected as the 2020 AcademyHealth/National Cancer Institute Visiting Scholar for Healthcare Delivery Research. During her term, she will work with colleagues at the National Cancer Institute to conduct research on rural oncology practices' participation in research and, via the national platform provided by AcademyHealth, the pre-eminent Health Services Research professional society, will convey a national agenda for expanding rural participation in cancer care delivery research.

New Department

Dr. Robert Simari, Executive Dean of the School of Medicine, announced the merger of the Department of Health Policy and Management and the Department of Preventive Medicine and Public Health. They formed a new Department of Population Health, effective July 1, 2019. All existing academic programs remain the same. Visit the new departmental website here:

Saint Onge on Editorial Board

Dr. Jarron Saint Onge has been appointed to the Editorial Board of Population Research and Policy Review.

Health Policy Symposium

The department of Health Policy and Management hosted its first Health Policy Symposium on Tuesday, April 23, 2019 entitled "Opportunities in Healthcare and Health Policy for Underserved Populations."

Partially sponsored by the Peter T. Bohan Visiting Lecturer Fund, the symposium's keynote speaker was Alonzo Plough, PhD, MPH, Vice President for Research Evaluation Learning and Chief Science Officer at the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation. The symposium featured three targeted sessions, bringing together policy and healthcare experts from across the State of Kansas and national panelists to discuss disabilities and mental health, cultural humility, and rural medicine.

Morning and afternoon session links: 

Saint Onge appointed Mentor

Dr. Jarron Saint Onge has been appointed as a Mentor for the Interdisciplinary Association for Population Health Science.

Williams Elected Chair of American Public Health Association

HP&M faculty member Dr. Jessica Williams was elected chair of the Medical Care Section of the American Public Health Association (APHA) effective November 2018. As chair, Dr. Williams will seek connections between medical care and public health.  December 2018

Last modified: Feb 24, 2020