Skip to main content

Administrative Staff


The mission of the administrative support team of the Department of Pathology & Laboratory Medicine at the University of Kansas is to support the department in providing excellent teaching, research, patient care and community service and to meet the health needs of Kansas and the community at large. Our aim is to provide the structure and assistance that ensures a supportive work environment so that each individual can excel, and pursue avenues that lead to national and international recognition. We will accomplish this by developing mechanisms that make optimal use of our human and financial resources in a professional and collaborative manner.

Our Values

  • Excellence
  • Reliability
  • Honesty
  • Integrity

Long-term goals for the department:

  • Stability
  • Growth
  • National/international reputation for and recognition for excellence in diagnostics, scientific discovery and education

In order to accomplish the above, we will:

  • Support the faculty, residents, students, staff and community
  • Work as a team
  • Value the diversity of us and our missions
  • Respect each other and our missions
  • Be professional at all times
  • Be fiscally responsible and ethical
  • Recognize hard work in others
  • Be recognized for excellence

Administration Includes:

X. Long Zheng, MD, PhD
Professor and Russell J. Eilers, MD, Endowed Chair
5019 Delp Pavilion
Phone: (913) 588-7124
Fax: (913) 588-7073
Brian Donawa, MBA
Senior Administrator
5019G Delp Pavilion
Phone: (913) 588-7027
Fax: (913) 588-7073
Teal Shultz 
Operations Manager
5019B Delp Pavilion
Phone: (913) 588-7070
Fax: (913) 588-7073
Sonora Thigpen, M.Ed.
Marketing & Communications Manager
5019G Delp Pavilion
Phone: (913) 588-7263
Fax: (913) 588-7073
Jeffrey L. Tully, MA
Residency/Fellowship Program Administrator
5019E Delp Pavilion
Phone: (913) 588-7076
Fax: (913) 588-7073

Brandi Miller
Program Administrator
3084 Hemenway Building
Phone: (913) 588-7490
Fax: (913) 588-7180

Lauren Yonkey
Administrative Officer
5019C Delp Pavilion
Phone: (913) 588-7474
Fax: (913) 588-7073
Marissa Merritt
Executive Assistant to the Chair
5019 Delp Pavilion
Phone: (913) 588-7124
Fax: (913) 588-7073
Tamara N. Osborn
Fellowship and Graduate Studies Coordinator
5019F Delp Pavilion
Phone: (913) 945-7063
Fax: (913) 588-7073

Joe Smith
Administrative Assistant to Physician
1604 Hospital
Phone: (913) 588-4499
Fax: (913) 588-7073

Stacy Oxley
Associate Director of Administration
3067 Hemenway Building
Phone: (913) 588-5774
Fax: (913) 588-8287

Hannah Messer
Administrative Assistant to Physician
1604 Hospital
Phone: (913) 945-7972
Fax: (913) 588-7073

Ashley Nichols
Office Coordinator
5019C Delp D
Phone: (913) 588-7007

Last modified: Jul 19, 2021