Skip to main content.

Curriculum Diagram PDF

Phase I Overview

The Phase I curriculum consists of nine blocks that comprise year one and year two of the four-year medical school program. These blocks integrate core basic science disciplines including anatomy, biochemistry, histology, microbiology, neuroscience, pathology, pharmacology, and physiology as well as basic clinical skills, preventive medicine, ethics, behavioral sciences, and other topics relevant to clinical practice.

Phase II Overview- Year 3

In year three, students take required clerkships in core clinical disciplines: Family Medicine, Internal Medicine, Neurology, Obstetrics and Gynecology, Pediatrics, Psychiatry and Surgery. Also in year 3, students take Issues in Clinical Medicine. During year four, students complete additional required clerkships and courses (Rural Preceptorship, Critical Care, Health of the Public, Subinternship) and electives. Credit hours for required courses, clerkships, and electives are listed below.

Phase II Overview- Year 4

The fourth-year curriculum allows students to design a personalized course of study. The selectives enable students to make choices about their courses, but these choices must include a selection in the following specific areas of study: rural medicine, critical care, health of the public, and a sub-internship.

Graduation Competencies

The objectives and their corresponding competencies serve as a guide for curriculum development and evaluation of the success of the medical education program:

ACE Curriculum 

KU School of Medicine

University of Kansas Medical Center
KU School of Medicine Office of Medical Education
Mailstop 1049
3901 Rainbow Boulevard
Kansas City KS 66160
Phone: 913-588-7200
Fax: 913-588-7235