Skip to main content


The Department of Neurology at the University of Kansas Medical Center is a robust and rapidly-growing department dedicated to excellence in research and clinical care. The department is the home to the University of Kansas Alzheimer's Disease Center, which is one of 31 Alzheimer's Disease Centers in the nation designated by the National Institute on Aging, a NeuroNEXT award from the National Institutes of Health, a Parkinson's Foundation Center of Excellence and an ALS clinic certified by the ALS Association. Our department is among the national leaders in National Institutes of Health grant funding each year and our faculty members and researchers continue to seek out new ways to improve the lives of our patients.

Regarding our post-graduate training programs, we currently have 26 residents in the four years of our residency program and fellowships in clinical neurophysiology, neuromuscular, vascular neurology, epilepsy, dementia, movement disorders, and neurocritical care programs. Our residency program and fellowship programs are fully accredited by the ACGME or the UCNS.

Mamatha Pasnoor, MD, FAAN, is the neurology residency Program Director, and the faculty have spent a great deal of time in developing a meaningful and well organized training program for our residents.

Mazen Dimachkie, MD, is the Program Director for the Neuromuscular fellowship program and Mamatha Pasnoor, MD is the Program Director for the Clinical Neurophysiology fellowship program. Our clinical neuromuscular fellows spend an equal amount of time becoming experts in electromyography and electroencephalography, along with receiving specialized clinical training in neuromuscular disease and epilepsy. The neuromuscular fellowship is designed for neurophysiologists who plan to pursue a career in academic medicine and are involved in clinical research.

Colleen Lechtenberg, MD, heads our Vascular Neurology fellowship program, which trains neurologists for an academic career in vascular neurology. Kathrin Husmann, MD, heads our Neurocritical Care fellowship, which began in 2015.

In regards to our clinical and research programs, we currently have a depth of specialization in multiple areas including Parkinson's disease and movement disorders, neuromuscular disease, epilepsy, multiple sclerosis, Alzheimer's disease, cerebrovascular disease and headache. A number of our faculty members are national and international leaders in their area of specialization. Eric Vidoni, PT, PhD, runs the non-accredited Dementia fellowship at the ADC.

The department is closely allied with the Hoglund Biomedical Imaging Center (HBIC) directed by William Brooks, PhD, Professor of Neurology. Dr. Brooks has assembled a group of talented investigators at the HBIC to further our understanding of both the healthy and dysfunctional brain. We are affiliated with the University of Kansas Hospital. The department continues to be in significant growth phase.

Jeffrey Burns, MD, MS, is the Edward H. Hashinger Professor of Neurology. Dr. Burns is the co-director of the KU Alzheimer's Disease Center and also directs the Frontiers Clinical and Translational Science Unit and the Alzheimer and Memory Clinic. 

Suzanne Stevens, MD, heads our Sleep Medicine Lab. A one-year Sleep fellowship is available.

Patrick Landazuri, MD, heads our newly formed Epilepsy fellowship program, which launched during the 2019-20 academic year. This training focuses on an emphasis on education, the surgical treatment of medically refractory epilepsy, routine and complex epilepsy conditions, and clinical research.

We are actively recruiting for faculty with clinical and research interests to add to our existing program in multiple sclerosis, epilepsy, movement disorders, neuro-oncology, general neurology and neuro-intensive care.

The department is located in Suite 112 of the Support Services building at 2100 W. 36th Avenue, Kansas City, Kansas, which is a few blocks north of the main campus. If you're in Kansas City, please visit us at our offices in Support Services.

Last modified: Jan 13, 2021