Skip to main content


Patrick M. Moriarty, M.D., FACC, FACP

Director, Division of Clinical Pharmacology
View bio

Gregory Reed, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, Department of Pharmacology, Toxicology and Therapeutics
View bio

James Backes, PharmD

James Backes earned a B.S. in Pharmacy (1991) and Pharm.D. (1993) from Creighton University in Omaha, Nebraska. Prior to joining the University of Kansas, he practiced as an ambulatory care pharmacist in the Family Medicine Clinic at the University of Nebraska Medical Center. He is professor in the pharmacy practice and internal medicine departments and serves as the assistant director of the Atherosclerosis and LDL-Apheresis Center (ALAC) on the University of Kansas Medical Center campus.

Dr. Backes has didactic teaching responsibilities primarily within the School of Pharmacy. His practice site is the ALAC, where he serves as preceptor for an ambulatory care Advanced Pharmacy Practice Experience clerkship. Within the ALAC, Dr. Backes plays an active role in patient care and serves as the principal investigator or co-investigator on multiple clinical trials. His research focus includes the safety and efficacy of lipid-altering agents and limiting the associated adverse events. Previously studied agents include policosanol, almonds, niacin, fibrates, statins (standard and intermittently dosed), apple-pectin, vitamin D, fish oil, krill oil, and red yeast rice.

Janelle Ruisinger, PharmD

Janelle Ruisinger earned a Pharm.D. from the University of Kansas (KU) School of Pharmacy and then completed a pharmacy practice residency with an emphasis on community care at the Ohio State University. Dr. Ruisinger is a clinical associate professor at KU and is a clinical pharmacist in the University of Kansas Medical Center Atherosclerosis and LDL-Apheresis Center. She is the KU School of Pharmacy PGY1 Community Residency director and currently serves as the American Pharmacists Association representative on the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists Commission on Credentialing.

Last modified: Aug 12, 2020