Skip to main content


As the only medical school in Kansas, the School of Medicine aims to help improve the lives of all Kansas residents, whether they live in an urban area, suburb, small town or rural area. To that end, students can earn their four-year medical degrees with programs in Kansas City, Salina or Wichita. Each campus has a unique focus:

  • In Kansas City, students train at a large, urban academic medical center.
  • Wichita facilities provide a community-based medical education environment.
  • The Salina program is specifically focused on rural medicine.

The following information is an introduction on applying to KU's School of Medicine:

Premedical Requirements
Applying to KU School of Medicine
     (including Early Decision Program, MD/PhD, and Scholars in Rural Health)
Application Requirements
Application Timeline
Selection Process
Technical Standards and Requirements
Transfer Policy
KU School of Medicine campus locations

Admissions Statistics 

In addition to the MD program, KU School of Medicine students can apply for one of three dual degree programs:

MD/PhD Program
MD/Master of Public Health
MD/Master of Health Services Administration

Master of Science in Clinical Research

The KU School of Medicine graduates' match results are available here.


The KU School of Medicine Admissions team will host weekly Virtual Open Office hours starting Thursday, April 29th from 1 pm - 3 pm Central time.

We would be happy to answer applicant and advisor questions on navigating the admissions process. However, please not that we are unable to offer academic advising or give specific updates on an applicant status or interview.

We'll have open hours every Thursday afternoon on a first come, first serve basis. Just click the Zoom link below. We look forward to speaking with you!

Zoom Meeting:

Meeting ID: 961 3837 8117
Passcode: 409035


Prospective applicants and premedical advisors can find information and tips on applying at our new Application Toolkit page. Please visit

If you need additional information, please call or email the Office of Admissions and Premedical Programs at 913-588-5283, . 

Last modified: Jul 30, 2021