Skip to main content

Competencies and EPAs

Graduation Competencies

The Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC) has established the Physician Competencies Reference Set (PCRS) as a national set of competencies for all practicing health professionals.  The School of Medicine adopted these competency domains and milestones as requirements for graduation from the ACE curriculum.  The eight competency domains and thirty-five graduation competencies cover the spectrum of professional development in the knowledge, skills and attitudes/behaviors expected at transition to residency. 

Entrustable Professional Activities (EPAs)

The framework in which competencies and milestones will be assessed are Entrustable Professional Activities (EPAs).  EPAs are clinical responsibilities that can be performed without supervision and address the need to integrate several competencies in clinical practice. To progress, a learner must demonstrate mastery of individual competencies AND the ability to use a combination of competencies in patient care.

Image of EPA diagram

Last modified: Sep 28, 2018