Skip to main content

ACE Curriculum

School of Medicine > Education > ACE Curriculum > Integrated 4-year Curriculum

Integrated 4-year Curriculum

The modular structure and "bright line" between the preclinical and clinical years has been identified as a barrier to a comprehensive and integrated curriculum. The continuum of learner development from pre-matriculation, through medical school and residency to lifelong, reflective practice and improvement requires seamless horizontal and vertical integration of foundational and clinical sciences. Concepts are better learned and retained in a clinical context, and the requirement for excellence in clinical practice drives the mastery and application of scientific knowledge. The ACE curriculum is an integrated hybrid format organized around clinical cases that seamlessly integrates foundational sciences as the basis for clinical practice.  This format systematically introduces topics with progressive complexity of foundational and clinical content through all four years. Integral to this will be an early and immersive clinical experience that enables the learner to integrate classroom learning with real-world patient care.

Phase I Overview
The Phase I curriculum consists of nine blocks that comprise years one and two of the four-year medical school program. These blocks integrate core foundational scientific, clinical, behavioral and social disciplines with clinical practice. The collaboration of clinical and foundational science faculty ensures that the focus of the Phase I curriculum is how foundational principles can be used to help individuals, communities and populations become and remain healthy. Learning activities are focused on applying knowledge to problem-solving, whether in large classrooms, small group sessions, simulation or clinical skills labs.
Learn more.

Phase II Overview
Phase II is the third and fourth year of medical school where the learning shifts to primarily clinical settings. Core clerkships prepare students to care for all types of patients in both medical and surgical settings. These clerkships include Family Medicine, Obstetrics/Gynecology, Internal Medicine, Neurology, Infant Child Adolescent Health, Junior Surgery and Issues in Clinical Medicine.  Learn more.

During year four, students complete additional required clerkships and courses (Rural Preceptorship, Critical Care, and Subinternship) and electives. The fourth-year curriculum allows students to design a personalized course of study. The selectives enable students to make choices about their courses, but these choices must include a selection in the following areas of study: rural medicine, critical care, and a subinternship. Learn more.

Last modified: Sep 25, 2019
Contact Us

If you have questions about or would like to participate in the ACE curriculum: Contact us by filling out our online form.