Skip to main content.

The Department of Anesthesiology is an ACGME accredited program affiliated with the University of Kansas School of Medicine-Wichita network of residency programs which include: Anesthesiology, Family Medicine, General Surgery, Internal Medicine, Obstetrics & Gynecology, Orthopaedic Surgery, Pediatrics, Psychiatry and Radiology.

The residency program is a four-year categorical program with the PGY-1 residents completing a preliminary year affiliated with the Department of Internal Medicine and then transitioning to the advanced portion of anesthesiology training during the remainder of their residency. The residents will gain experience in anesthetic practice at several practice sites including two level-1 trauma centers in Wichita (Wesley Medical Center and Ascension Via Christi St. Francis), several Wichita outpatient surgery centers, and the Robert J. Dole VA Medical Center.

Program Mission & Aim

Our anesthesiology residency program strives to produce highly confident and competent residents that are prepared to take any one of three paths upon graduating from our program: pursuing subspecialty fellowship training, pursuing academic clinical anesthesiology, or entering the private practice arena as a consultant anesthesiologist. In their chosen role, they will strive for the provision of compassionate, patient-centered care, patient advocacy, and a commitment to continuous education of themselves and their colleagues.


Anesthesiology Contact

Megan Souter
Residency Coordinator
Ascension Via Christi St. Francis
929 N. St. Francis, Room 8079
Wichita, KS 67214

KU School of Medicine-Wichita

1010 North Kansas
Wichita, KS 67214-3199