Skip to main content.

News and Events

  • We'd like to congratulate Dr. Guida on being Radformation's April user of the month. Kenny has revolutionized plan QA with ClearCheck throughout the University of Kansas cancer center network. He shares, “ClearCheck has really allowed our group to create our own templates basedon department guidelines.” In less than a year, their team has added over 60 in-house protocols to ClearCheck.

  • We are pleased to announce the award winners for the 2022 KUCC Summer Student Research Training Program.

         Awards will go to the following student/mentor teams:


Student/Mentor – Project:

Trenton Edwards/Midhat FarooqiGenomic Analysis of Infant Acute Lymphoblastic Leukemia Samples

Alexandra Pierce/Michael VanSaunDual PI3K and MAPK inhibition in pancreatic cancer

Mackenzie Thornton/David AkhavanEvaluation of EGFR-B7-H3 bispecific CAR T cells targeting mTNBC

Colin Slaymaker/Chad SlawsonThe Role of O-GlcNAcylation status in differentiation to MITF and AXL Phenotypes in Melanoma

Jacob Hiss/Fariba Behbod, Joan Lewis-WambiThe role of IFITM1 in breast cancer progression

Rachel Stetson/Ajay Bansal - Natural history and epidemiology of Hereditary Gastrointestinal Cancer Syndromes: A

patient registry at a large tertiary care center


Winners will work and train in the labs of their mentors from June 6 - July 29, 2022.  They will also have the opportunity to present a poster on their project at the annual KUCC Research Symposium.  This year’s poster competition for the Symposium will be held on November 4th, 2022.

  • Over the weekend our Radiation Oncology team partnered with American Cancer Society Hope Lodge to donate paper towels, toilet paper, disposable tableware, laundry detergent, dryer sheets, pantry snacks, stamps, gift cards and quarters for vending machines

  • The University of Kansas Health System’s new Proton Therapy Center is receiving its first public viewings. Dozens of civic and philanthropic leaders in April 2022 toured the facility. Employee tours are next, slated for May 3-4. Located on the Kansas City campus, the state-of-the-art facility is one of 39 proton centers in the nation, but it’s the first in our region.

  • Another successful mock oral event! Thank you so much for the examiners and the admins who made the 12th Annual Mid-America Radiation Oncology Mock Oral Course possible.

  • Participation in the University of Kansas School of Medicine Grand Affair 2022

  • KUMC Radiation Oncology Department is excited to welcome our 1st Fulbright Scholar Dr. Fatjona Kraja from Albania.

  • The University of Kansas Cancer Center 
    American Association for Cancer Research (AACR)
    Annual Meeting | April 8-13, 2022

  • Congratulations to Siddharth, for being selected and placing 2nd place in this year's KU Engineering Research Virtual Presentations Showcase .

  • We are happy to share that the Capitol Graduate Research Summit review committee was very impressed with Siddharth Subha’s research titled Assembling Avengers “CAR-T” cells against TNBC. Siddharth Subham, PhD student at KUL – preceptor is David Akhavan, MD, PhD – was selected to present at the 2022 Capitol Graduate Research Summit this March. 

  • We’d like to congratulate Dr. Li for the hard work he’s contributed to the Medical Physics journal as an Associate Editor in 2021. Dr. Li has been named a Distinguished Associate Editor for Medical Physics for 2022.

  • We are honored to be a part of this year’s Parade of Hearts, with the heart "Buck". 

  • Congratulations to Ronald‌ ‌C.‌‌Chen‌, MD‌, Andrew C. Hoover, MD, and James ‌Coster‌, ‌MD‌R‌ on being selected as Top Doctors in America. Our Rad Onc department is thrilled to have 3 of our doctors selected by a physicians-led team of researchers following a rigorous screening process to select top doctors through a nomination process that is open to all licensed physicians in America.

For more information, visit Radiation Oncology (

  • 3:00- p.m. second Thursday of each month.

    Susie Cable, LMSW
    Radiation Oncology Social Worker
    Phone: 913-588-3630

  • We are excited to announce Dr. Gao is now the newest editor of the Medical Physics Board of Associate Editors.

  • Congratulations to Dr. Savioz who was recently appointed to the DEI officer's leadership group for the AGCME.

  • This past January our physics team at the University of Kansas Health System consisting of Dr. Howard, Dr. Craft and Dr. Neba were responsible for the acceptance and commissioning for the launch of IORT (Intraoperative Radiation Therapy) technology. IORT is a modality for certain early-stage breast cancer patients where they can receive their radiation at the time of surgery, instead of the patient having to come for 3-4 weeks of follow up radiation.

School of Medicine

Radiation Oncology
3901 Rainbow Boulevard
Kansas City, KS 66160