Skip to main content.

Professional Development Committee

We want our faculty to learn and grow. Our committee is here to help.

The Professional Development Committee is dedicated to enhancing faculty development in a variety of ways.

Events and activities to encourage departmental cohesion
Our committee hosts multiple town hall meetings each year for faculty to discuss issues and opportunities as well as to strategically plan the department's future. We also organize an annual celebration that brings together faculty and staff from the department and The University of Kansas Health System.

Faculty and staff recognition
We annually recognize staff and faculty for their service and accomplishments. Honorees for these awards are nominated and chosen by department faculty and staff.

  • Service Achievement Award
    One of the department’s highest honors, this award is presented to an individual who demonstrates professional excellence through research, teaching or clinical service and/or clinical contributions that are above and beyond.
  • Faculty Collegiality Award
    This honor is given to one psychologist/doctoral researcher and one physician on the faculty who cultivates cooperative relationships with colleagues and shares authority.
  • Staff Service Award
    This award recognizes individuals who display professional excellence in service, sharing or collegiality.

We also annually acknowledge service anniversaries of all faculty, staff and other personnel.

Get Involved

To learn more about our committee or to share an issue you'd like us to address, please contact us.

Shilpa Sachdeva, M.D., Co-chair

Jessica Hamilton, Ph.D., Co-chair

Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences

University of Kansas Medical Center
Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences
Mailstop 4015
3901 Rainbow Boulevard
Kansas City, KS 66160
Phone: 913-588-6400
Fax: 913-588-6414