Skip to main content.

Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences trainees earn diversity award

Angela Gutierrez, Ph.D., and Spencer Harrison, M.D., with its second annual Diversity Award

The University of Kansas Medical Center's Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences' Diversity Committee honored Angela Gutierrez, Ph.D., and Spencer Harrison, M.D., with its second annual Diversity Award.

The award recognizes trainees who exhibit the committee's mission of promoting diversity and inclusion within the department and the community.

"Part of the Diversity Committee's aim is to encourage opportunities for meaningful contributions to the greater good in ways that make a difference," said Micaela Wexler, D.O., co-chair of the committee. "This award is one way we're putting our mission into action. We're proud to recognize Dr. Gutierrez and Dr. Harrison for their efforts."

In addition to a strong commitment to addressing health disparities faced by minorities and people who are low income and from rural committees, Gutierrez is active in attending to the clinical needs of Latinos in a community safety net clinic.

"I am very grateful to the Diversity Committee and to KU Medical Center for this recognition," Gutierrez said. "I feel fortunate to have matched at KU Medical Center for my psychology internship, as this experience has greatly influenced my clinical and research work regarding the needs of underserved communities. I hope to continue to work in this area in my next professional steps."

Meanwhile, Harrison, who completed the child and adolescent psychiatry fellowship at KU in 2019, demonstrated a commitment to improving his treatment of marginalized patients, especially with racial minorities and with the LGBT community.

The Diversity Award was created in honor of Ravinder Goswami, M.D., a graduate of the general psychiatry program who passed away in 2018. Naveen Khanzada, M.D., who was a child and adolescent psychiatry fellow, and Ashley Rhodes, Ph.D., who was a clinical psychology intern, were the inaugural honorees last year.

The Diversity Committee also will present a faculty/staff diversity award beginning in 2020.

Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences

University of Kansas Medical Center
Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences
Mailstop 4015
3901 Rainbow Boulevard
Kansas City, KS 66160
Phone: 913-588-6400
Fax: 913-588-6414