Skip to main content.

Psychiatry honors graduates during hybrid ceremony

The department recognized graduates from the psychiatry, internal medicine/psychiatry, child and adolescent psychiatry and addiction psychiatry training programs.

Image of 2022 graduates of psychiatry training programs
2022 graduates of the Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences psychiatry training programs.

Graduates from the psychiatry training programs in the Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences at the University of Kansas Medical Center were recognized during a June 18 in-person celebration that also was livestreamed for family and friends.

The department honored residents and fellows from its child and adolescent psychiatry, internal medicine/psychiatry, addiction psychiatry and psychiatry programs.

“You are the future of mental health and behavioral health care. We are so proud to celebrate you today and the journey that you've taken to get to this point, but don’t just look back. We look ahead and celebrate your new journey ahead,” said Angela Mayorga, M.D., director of the psychiatry residency program, during introductory remarks. “Graduates, good luck. We are so proud of you.”

William Gabrielli, M.D., Ph.D., chair of the department, also provided congratulatory remarks at the achievement celebration.

“This is 27th time I’ve had the privilege to give a Chairman’s Message to the graduates,” he said. “You know, there’s a lot of great successes and challenges to be a chair, and I think the one thing that’s the most important to me is to see the success of our trainees and, and what they end up doing.”  

Graduating child and adolescent psychiatry fellows included:

  • Shahzad Choudhry, M.D.
  • Umang Shah, M.D.

The child and adolescent psychiatry and psychiatry fellow was:

  • Brayden Reynolds Willis, D.O.

The internal medicine/psychiatry program honored:  

  • Anthony Carter Bianchi, D.O.
  • Adam Kristopher Wetzel, M.D.

The addiction psychiatry training program recognized its graduating fellow:

  • Iryna Salapenka, M.D.

The psychiatry graduates included:

  • Jaclyn Marie Crossman, M.D.
  • Esha Garg, D.O.
  • Jennifer N. Hanson, D.O.
  • Rachael Do Hyung Kim, D.O.
  • Gregory Michael Maggio, D.O.
  • Jason E. Obermann, D.O.
  • Carly Twarog, M.D.
  • Jenna Whitbeck, M.D.

In addition to honoring graduates, the department presented multiple departmental awards.

Student Voice Awards

(Voted on and presented by medical students for exceptional teaching)

  • Chrissy Glenn, D.O. (Faculty)
  • Christian Barrett, M.D. (Resident)

Excellence in Child and Adolescent Psychiatry Awards

Excellence in Psychotherapy

  • Brayden Willis, D.O.

Excellence in Patient-Centered Care

  • Shahzad Choudhry, M.D.

Fellow of the Year

  • Umang Shah, M.D. 

Excellence in Scholarship Award

(Presented to residents who achieved a top score on the Psychiatry Resident-In-Training Exam [PRITE])

  • Faisal Ansari, M.D.
  • Christian Barrett, M.D.
  • Anthony Bianchi, D.O.
  • Alex Burnett, M.D.
  • Gurpreet Guliani, M.D.
  • Jennifer Hanson, D.O.
  • Rachael Kim, D.O.
  • Greg Maggio, D.O.
  • Luke Mirabelli, M.D.
  • Jason Obermann, D.O.
  • Punam Patel, M.D.
  • Carly Twarog, M.D.
  • William Webb, M.D.
  • Adam Wetzel, M.D.
  • Jenna Whitbeck, M.D.

PRITE Scholarship Award

(Presented to the resident who scored the highest on the Psychiatry Resident-In-Training Exam [PRITE])

  • Alex Burnett, M.D. 

Residents’ Choice Awards

(Voted on by residents and presented to faculty members in recognition of outstanding teaching contributions)

  • Chrissy Glenn, D.O. (PGY-1 and PGY-2)
  • Barry Liskow, M.D., and Tyler Kjorvestad, M.D. (PGY-3, PGY-4 and PGY-5)

Shawn M. Storm, M.D. Memorial Award

(Presented to a graduating resident for consistently demonstrating the highest professional qualities in all aspects of patient-centered care)

  • Anthony Bianchi, D.O.

2021-22 Chief residents, Psychiatry – Kansas City VA Medical Center

  • Jason Obermann, D.O.
  • Jaclyn Crossman, M.D.
  • Jennifer Hanson, D.O. 

2021-22 Chief residents, Psychiatry – KU Medical Center

  • Alex Burnett, M.D.
  • Nicholas Loughman, D.O.

2021-22 Chief residents, Internal Medicine/Psychiatry – KU Medical Center

  • Anthony Bianchi, D.O.
  • Adam Wetzel, M.D.

Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences

University of Kansas Medical Center
Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences
Mailstop 4015
3901 Rainbow Boulevard
Kansas City, KS 66160
Phone: 913-588-6400
Fax: 913-588-6414