Skip to main content.


Population Health Faculty and Student Awards

Program: MD

Tom D.Y Chin Population Health Excellence Award ... to a graduating senior medical student who has excelled in public health or preventive medicine during their medical education in honor of Tom D.Y. Chin, M.D. Dr. Chin was Chair of the Department of Preventive Medicine and Public Health (now Population Health) from 1975 through 1989, and was Professor Emeritus. He had a national and international reputation in Infectious Disease Epidemiology and Cancer Epidemiology, and had thirty years of dedicated service to the U.S. Public Health Service. He was an outstanding teacher, clinician and a leader in public health research both nationally, and internationally. This award honors an individual who has some of the personal attributes and characteristics that illuminated Dr. Chin's own distinguished career.

2020 Recipient: Jordan Voss, MD, MS

Norge W. Jerome Population Health Excellence Award an outstanding senior medical student who has excelled in public health or preventive medicine for minority populations during their medical education in honor of Norge W. Jerome, PhD. Dr. Jerome, Professor Emeritus, Department of Population Health, conducted her first pioneering research more than 30 years ago, combining the fields of human nutrition and anthropology. This innovative approach launched the discipline of nutritional anthropology. Dr. Jerome has a strong record of public service and has been active in community development for close to 50 years, combining science with compassion to effectively address the food, nutrition and health concerns of women, families and communities in the United States and around the world. She serves as an inspiration to future generations of students.

2020 Recipient: Katie Twist, MD

Program: MHSA

Student Awards:

Health Care Executive of the Future Award ... to recognize the graduate who shows outstanding promise as a healthcare manager and is selected by the MHSA teaching faculty.

2020 Recipient: Miranda Bryant Steele, MPA, MHSA

JHAWK Outstanding Student of the Year Award ... to a student pursuing a career in health services administration, selected by the MHSA student organization Jayhawk Administrators Working for Kansas (JHAWK), which promotes leadership, community involvement, marketability, relationships and knowledge.

2020 Recipients: Kimberly Lynn Dyer, MHSA and Mary-Kate Shelton, MHSA

Professional Development Award ... to recognize the Master of Health Administration graduate who has demonstrated growth, academic excellence and excellent promise as a healthcare manager.

2020 Recipient: Mary-Kate Shelton, MHSA

Faculty Award:

JHAWK Outstanding Faculty of the Year

Recipient: J. Atlee Gafford, PhD, MA

Program: MPH

Student Awards:

Analee E. "Betsy" Beisecker Public Health Excellence Award ... to an outstanding MPH graduate selected by vote of the MPH faculty. Dr. Beisecker served the University of Kansas for 26 years. Her talents were multidimensional and she held faculty appointments in several departments, including Preventive Medicine, Sociology, and Communication. She was nationally known for her research and public education programs on doctor-patient communication and breast cancer risk factors, cancer awareness, and early detection. This student award was established to honor her contributions to the field of preventive medicine as well as recognize an outstanding student who has already shown extreme promise in the field of public health.

2020 Recipient: Michael Arnold, MPH

Doren D. Fredrickson Public Health Excellence Award ...created in order to preserve the memory of the late Dr. Doren Fredrickson, an MPH faculty member, founding faculty in the Department of Preventive Medicine and Public Health (now Population Health) on the Wichita campus and Sedgwick County Health Officer. Dr. Fredrickson was a ferocious champion of public health, tireless proponent of health equity and avid public health researcher. This student award was established to honor Dr. Fredrickson and is awarded to the MPH graduate who will carry on Dr. Fredrickson's mission and serve as visible reminder of what it means to be a Jayhawk.

2020 Recipient(s): Lauren Elizabeth Haag, MD, MPH

Faculty Awards:

Excellence in Population Health Teaching Award (Kansas City and Wichita)

2019-2020 Recipient: Megha Ramaswamy, PhD, MPH (Kansas City), Deborah B. Fromer, MT (ASCP), MPH (Wichita)

Program: MS-CR

Master of Science in Clinical Research Thesis Award an MS-CR student recognized for the excellent work put into their final thesis. This award was created by Dr. Theresa Shireman and nominees are MS-CR students who have successfully completed their thesis defense by the end of the spring semester of the current academic year.

2020 Recipients: Stephanie Assimonye, MS and Garth Fraga, MD, MS

School of Medicine

Population Health
Mail Stop 1008
3901 Rainbow Boulevard
Kansas City, KS 66160
Fax: 913-588-2780