Skip to main content.

Anatomic Pathology

Anatomic/Surgical Services Division

Division Director: Janet Woodroof, M.D.

Janet Woodroof, MD

Clinical Professor
Director of Quality in Anatomic Pathology
Director of Anatomic Pathology

MD: University of Kansas Medical Center
Residency: Anatomic & Clinical Pathology, University of Kansas Medical Center
Fellowship: Surgical Pathology, University of Kansas Medical Center

The Division of Anatomic/Surgical Pathology is responsible for examination and interpretation of anatomic pathology specimens consisting of tissue and body fluids. Department faculty subspecialize in the disciplines of Surgical Pathology, Cytopathology and Autopsy Pathology. The Department processes and interprets over 38,000 surgical pathology specimens per year, a reflection of 9 percent year-over-year growth; 13,000 cytology accessions and 2,500 bone marrow accessions per year. Cases are triaged to over 20 subspecialty teams for examination and diagnosis. Brain and Biospecimen Shared tissue laboratories with the University of Kansas Cancer Center provide ongoing research towards the development of new and improved treatment modalities.

Our innovative multidisciplinary approach towards the treatment of cancer brings together many specialists, including pathologists, medical oncologists, hematologists, radiation oncologists and surgeons, all leaders in their respective fields. Our superb pathologists are critical partners in the team that works closely with other physicians to provide you with the latest advances in prevention, diagnosis, treatment and research.

Our expert breast pathology team handles over 2000 pathology cases per year. Our department is one of the largest referral centers in the Midwest for patients with diseases of the breast. The program provides a comprehensive state of the art diagnostic services including consultations, immunohistochemical studies, prognostic markers studies and other sophisticated molecular studies. In addition, our pathologists are actively involved in national and international studies in collaboration with other investigators.

Division Administration

Further information on the staffing can be found on our Clinical Faculty page.

KU School of Medicine

University of Kansas Medical Center
Department of Pathology & Laboratory Medicine
Mail Stop 3045
3901 Rainbow Boulevard
Kansas City, KS 66160
Phone: 913-588-7070
Fax: 913-588-7073