Skip to main content.

Residency Research

Research training is provided throughout residency. However, three months during the PGY-3 year are dedicated to research. The research rotation is monitored by the Research Committee, chaired by Doug Burton, M.D. Residents are encouraged to start thinking about their research during the PGY-2 year and complete all research online training before starting their three month rotation. Usually data collection is completed during the three month rotation, while data analysis, preparation of presentations, and completion of manuscripts is done subsequently. Research is performed in either the Orthopedic Research and Education Center, directed by Terence McIff, Ph.D. or the Harrington Laboratory for Molecular Orthopedics, directed by Jinxi Wang, M.D., Ph.D. Residents may also participate in clinical research with any one of the clinical faculty. Residents are required to publish a minimum of one manuscript in a peer-reviewed journal and are encouraged to present at local, regional, and national meetings. The PGY-5 residents present their research each year at our annual Leonard F. Peltier, M.D., Ph.D. Lectureship. The program includes a nationally known guest lecturer and case presentations by the PGY-3 and PGY-4 residents. Faculty, alumni, and community physicians attend the lecture.

Dr. Federico AdlerIn 2007, Dr. Federico Adler established the Betty & Federico Adler Resident Award Fund the through the KU Endowment Association. The fund provides an annual award to recognize outstanding medical research performed by a resident physician who conducted original research or made original contributions to ongoing research in the field of orthopedic medicine. The Award is presented each year at the department's graduation ceremony. The recipients receive a monetary award and their names are placed on plaques displayed in the Biomechanical Research Lab and in the academic offices of the department. Past winners are:

  • 2007 Joshua Nelson, M.D.
  • 2008 Chad Waits, M.D.
  • 2009 Hugh Brock, M.D. and Shane Schutt, M.D.
  • 2010 David Anderson, M.D.
  • 2011 Ryan Dunlay, M.D. 
  • 2012 Todd Lansford M.D.and J. Paul Schroeppel, M.D.
  • 2013 William Kramer, M.D.
  • 2014 Scott Mullen, M.D.
  • 2015 Richard Seagrave,III, M.D.
  • 2016 Joshua Bunch, M.D.
  • 2017 Darryl Blalock M.D. and Brandon Carlson, M.D.
  • 2018 Brandon Morris, M.D.
  • 2019 Brandon Barnds, M.D. and Caleb Grote, M.D.
  • 2020 Caleb Grote, M.D. 
  • 2021 Daniel Reinhardt M.D. and Douglas Haase, M.D.

Contact Us

Please contact Amy Phillips with any questions about the KU School of Medicine orthopedic residency program at KU Medical Center.

Amy Phillips, Senior Residency Coordinator
University of Kansas Medical Center
Orthopedic Surgery & Sports Medicine Medical Education
3901 Rainbow Blvd.
Mail Stop 3017
Kansas City, KS 66160
Phone: 816-726-9005

KU School of Medicine

University of Kansas Medical Center
Department of Orthopedic Surgery and Sports Medicine
Mail Stop 3017
3901 Rainbow Boulevard
Kansas City, KS 66160