Skip to main content.

REACH Lab announcements and activities


Mohammad Alwatban, post-doctoral fellow, received the Resident Travel Award from The American Society of Neuroimaging for his work, "Sex Differences in Cerebral Blood Flow Declining with Age: Transcranial Doppler Study," in 2020.

Rehabilitation science doctoral student Alicen Whitaker received the Scientific Inquiry Award for Best Platform Presentation at the Kansas Physical Therapy Association spring conference in 2020.

Physical therapy students Allegra Morton and Moria Myers received the Lou Loescher-Junge Professional Development Scholarship to attend the American Physical Therapy Association 2020 Combined Sections Meeting.

KU Research Team Receives Team Science Award
Sandy Billinger, Ph.D., PT, is part of an interprofessional group of KU researchers that received the Frontiers 2020 Team Science Award. The honor aims to enhance and accelerate clinical and translational research. Their project is titled "Integrated Studies Into Prevention Strategies for Alzheimer's Disease/Enhanced Mediterranean Diet for Alzheimer's Disease Prevention" and was recognized during Frontiers Research Day 2020 on March 4, 2020 at KU's Edwards Campus.


The American Heart Association selected physical therapy student Allegra Morton for the Student Scholarship in Cerebrovascular Disease and Stroke in 2019.

Doctoral student Carolyn Kaufman received the Cresence E. Meek Excellence Award for Outstanding Poster Presentation at the 2019 Student Research Forum at KU Medical Center. She presented data on brain blood flow and Omega-3 supplementation.


KU Medical Center researchers are using transcranial Doppler ultrasound as part of a novel approach to monitor brain blood flow during exercise (March 2018). banner showing award winning lab team member


Physical therapy student Alicen Whitaker, selected for a summer research experience (T32 HD057850; Nudo, PI), shared her research at the Fall T32 retreat in 2017. She was recognized for the Best Summer T32 Trainee Presentation.

Physical therapy student Alicen Whitaker was awarded the Lou Loescher-Junge Professional Development Scholarship for presenting at the American Physical Therapy Association CombinedSections Meeting in 2017.

Congratulations Jason Sisante for receiving the 2017 Student Diversity Award at the Student Leader Awards event held March 28.

KU School of Medicine

University of Kansas Medical Center
Department of Neurology
Mailstop 2012
3901 Rainbow Blvd.
Kansas City, KS 66160
Phone: 913-588-6970
Fax: 913-588-6965