Skip to main content.

Multidisciplinary team including neurology researchers wins Frontiers science award

Multidisciplinary team including neurology researchers wins Frontiers science award

Four faculty from the department of neurology are part of a multidisciplinary group of researchers that earned the 2020 Team Science Award presented by Frontiers: University of Kansas Clinical and Translational Science Institute.

The award-winning nine-member team included Jeffrey Burns, M.D., In-Young Choi, Ph.D., Russell Swerdlow, M.D., and Eric Vidoni, Ph.D., from the department of neurology.

"Clinical research is a team sport and it takes a lot of players working together to move the science forward. So, I'm excited that Frontiers is recognizing that along with the great work that our team is doing," Burns said.

The researchers earned the recognition for a body work developed over more than 10 years of collaboration focused on integrated studies related to prevention strategies for Alzheimer's disease (AD) and related dementias. The team's efforts, which are ongoing, have blended expertise in the areas of aging/AD, neuroimaging, and exercise and nutrition, and led to multiple federal and foundation grant awards.

Other researchers on the team include Phil Lee, Ph.D., radiology, Deb Sullivan, Ph.D., and Matthew Taylor, Ph.D., nutrition and dietetics, Sandra Billinger, Ph.D., physical therapy and rehabilitation science, and Lauren Ptomey, Ph.D., internal medicine.

The honor was presented March 4 during Frontiers Research Day, a regional conference at the University of Kansas Edwards Campus in Overland Park, Kansas.

KU School of Medicine

University of Kansas Medical Center
Department of Neurology
Mailstop 2012
3901 Rainbow Blvd.
Kansas City, KS 66160
Phone: 913-588-6970
Fax: 913-588-6965