Skip to main content.

KU School of Medicine promotes four neurology faculty

KU School of Medicine promotes four neurology faculty

The University of Kansas School of Medicine announced the promotion of four faculty members in the department of neurology, effective July 1.

Mamatha Pasnoor, M.D., was elevated to professor, while James Southwell, D.O., and Deetra Ford, M.D., were promoted to clinical associate professor. Omar Jawdat, M.D., was elevated to associate professor.

Nationally recognized for her work in neuropathy, Pasnoor serves as director of the department's residency and clinical neurophysiology fellowship programs. She is the associate program director for neuromuscular medicine fellowship program. She also teaches third- and fourth-year medical students. A productive researcher with a special interest in neuromuscular medicine and, more specifically, peripheral neuropathy, Pasnoor is the principal investigator on seven grants and the principal co-investigator on multiple other projects. She is credited with 59 peer-reviewed publications and has helped craft four book chapters. She has been on the faculty since 2006. 

Southwell helps train medical students and residents by engaging with them through inpatient activities and an active weekly clinic schedule. As an established provider at The University of Kansas Health System's Marc A. Asher Spine Center, he collaborates with other specialties such as orthopedics and rehabilitation. Recently appointed as division chief of community neurology, Southwell recruits, mentors and helps retain neurologists affiliated with community hospitals that are part of The University of Kansas Health System. Southwell joined the faculty in 2003. 

Ford works with trainees within patient care environments, including during teaching rounds and in outpatient clinic settings. She advises both neurology residents and medical students as well as mentors new faculty members at the Indian Creek Campus of The University of Kansas Health System, where she serves as section head for neurology at the community-based clinic. A recognized regional expert in general neurology, Ford also has gained national media attention discussing therapies for migraine. She has been a member of the faculty since 2013. 

As the associate director of the neuromuscular medicine fellowship, Jawdat plans and implements teaching activities for the program, including leading a lecture series. He has co-authored nine manuscripts and 19 national and international poster presentations since 2014. In addition to participating in CReATe, an NIH-supported clinical research scholars program, he has been the principal investigator or co-investigator on multiple studies within the last three years. Jawdat has directed the ALS clinic at The University of Kansas Health System since 2016. He joined the faculty in 2014.

KU School of Medicine

University of Kansas Medical Center
Department of Neurology
Mailstop 2012
3901 Rainbow Blvd.
Kansas City, KS 66160
Phone: 913-588-6970
Fax: 913-588-6965