Skip to main content.

KU Neurology recognizes its graduates and names winners of annual Research Day

The celebration honored graduating residents and fellows and this year’s top research projects by trainees

Image of Dr. Mamatha Pasnoor and graduating resident Dr. Obi Nwabueze.
Obi Nwabueze, M.D., (left) was among the five graduating residents recognized with a framed certificate by Mamatha Pasnoor, M.D., (right) director of the Department of Neurology’s residency program.

The Department of Neurology at the University of Kansas Medical Center paused to recognize its graduating residents and fellows and announce the winners of its annual Research Day during a June 25 celebration at Lake Quivira Country Club in Lake Quivira, Kansas.

The department honored the following residents:

  • Kyle Dack, M.D.
  • Mai Yamakawa, M.D.
  • Muhtadi Islam, M.D., Ph.D.
  • Obi Nwabueze, M.D.
  • Daniah Shamim, M.D.

The following fellows were honored:

  • Joseph Pleen, D.O. (Cognitive and Behavioral Neurology)
  • Ian Bakk, M.D. (Clinical Neurophysiology)
  • Ryan Lay, M.D. (Epilepsy)
  • Manan Karki, M.D. (Neurocritical care)
  • Ameen Tajuddin, M.D. (Neuromuscular medicine)

Annual Research Day and other department awards

During the annual Research Day, a long-running tradition in the department, residents and fellows present research projects they developed in collaboration with faculty mentors. One resident from each postgraduate year and a fellow are chosen for the best project and presentation. This year’s winners were announced at the graduation festivities and included:

  • Sean Beattie, D.O., PGY-2 (Mentor: Utku Uysal, M.D.)
  • Daniel Mafla, D.O., PGY-3 (Mentor: Patrick Landazuri, M.D.)
  • Carley Carter, M.D., PGY-3 (Mentor: Colleen Lechtenberg, M.D.)
  • Muhtadi Islam, M.D., Ph.D., PGY-4 (Mentor: Vikas Singh)
  • Ryan Lay, M.D., Fellow, Epilepsy (Mentor: Patrick Landazuri, M.D., Jennifer Villwock, M.D.)

In addition, Maryam Matloub, M.D., was recognized for the best quality improvement (QI) project and the Faculty Educator of the Year Award was presented to Arpan Patel, M.D.

The department also announced Daniel Mafla, M.D., and Maggie Logan, M.D., as chief residents for the 2022-23 academic year.


KU School of Medicine

University of Kansas Medical Center
Department of Neurology
Mailstop 2012
3901 Rainbow Blvd.
Kansas City, KS 66160
Phone: 913-588-6970
Fax: 913-588-6965