Skip to main content.

Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Awards

Our department presents two awards each year to recognize individuals who are promoting diversity, equity and inclusion initiatives at any level, whether within the department, hospital, school, community or clinical setting.

One award is specifically for a resident physician and a second award is for a faculty or staff member.

These awards honor recipients who champion diversity, equity and inclusion (DEI) within the university, hospital and/or the community. Recipients may embody this in multiple ways such as:

  • Supporting efforts for increased diversity equity, and inclusion in the community or on KU Medical Center campuses among staff, faculty or students.
  • Significantly contributing to diversity at any system level — the university or hospital, department, organization or community — such as through recruitment and retention efforts, teaching or curriculum development, outreach to underserved communities, or addressing cultural climate in the workplace
  • Efforts to support or improve current clinical practices to support DEI, such as through educational initiatives or program development to build clinical capacity and provision of clinical services relevant to DEI.
  • Research or program evaluation efforts addressing diversity factors or efforts to improve DEI.
  • Building clinical capacity to promote DEI or to develop cultural competence, such as through educational efforts and increasing awareness of diversity issues.
  • Efforts to resolve diversity-related concerns in the workplace.
  • Community efforts such as group involvement, volunteering or activism/organizing.
  • Committee involvement and leadership roles.
  • Program development emphasizing diversity concerns for those in the workplace.

Award criteria were developed in alignment with the KU Medical Center Vice Chancellor's Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Cabinet's Diversity Award criteria.

Award Submission Timeline

  • January 27, 2023
    Open call for individual and/or group award nominations and submissions

  • March 3, 2023
    Last day to submit individual and/or group award nominations and submissions

The awards are presented at the annual residency graduation ceremony in June.

Previous Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Award Recipients

  • Individual Award Winner: Kakra Boye-Doe, M.D.
  • Team Award Winner: JUNTOS – Center for Advancing Latino Health, School of Medicine, Population Health
  • Keynote: panel on mentorship moderated by Lynn Fisher, M.D.
  • Individual Award: Kristina Bridges, Ph.D. Senior Research Associate
    Department of Family Medicine and Community Health
  • Individual Award: Jason Glenn, Ph.D. Associate Professor
    Department of History and Philosophy of Medicine
  • Keynote: Bridgette L. Jones, M.D., MSc, FAAAAI, FAAP, Medical Director, Office of Equity and Diversity, Children’s Mercy Hospital Kansas City
KU School of Medicine

University of Kansas Medical Center
Family Medicine & Community Health
3901 Rainbow Boulevard
Mailstop 4010
Kansas City, KS 66160