Skip to main content

School of Health Professions Faculty Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee

The committee launched its own podcast!

The goal of this committee is to facilitate understanding and acceptance of persons with diverse abilities, cultures, and ethnicities within the KU School of Health Professions and the greater community through support and education.

The committee's mission is to celebrate, highlight, and promote the values of diverse cultures and unique perspectives among the school's students, staff, and faculty by creating an inclusive community where shared communication, awareness, acceptance, and mutual respect are enhanced through cultural enrichment.

Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee Members



Term Ends

photo of Bobbie LainczBobbie Laincz

Health Information Management


photo of Jane HughesJane Hughes

Occupational Therapy Education


photo of Letycia Nunez-ArgoteLetycia Nunez-Argote

Clinical Laboratory Sciences


photo of Kaitlyn BrownKaitlyn Brown

Health Information Management


photo of LesLee TaylorLesLee Taylor

Physical Therapy, Rehabilitation Science, and Athletic Training


photo of Karen SchellKaren Schell

Office of the Dean Representative


photo of Alex LopezAlex Lopez

Staff Representative


photo of Erin ManuelErin Manuel

Staff Representative


no photo availableAmanda Regetti

Student Representative


 * The representatives for the Office of the Dean, from the school's staff assembly, and students are non-voting members appointed for one-year terms rather than voted in during the regular faculty committees election.

School Statements on Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion

The school is committed to creating and maintaining diverse and inclusive learning and working environments that nurture the growth and development of our students, faculty, staff, and patients. Read more.

School statement on systemic racism PDF document icon.

Committee Policies and Procedures

I. Membership

  1. Membership on this committee will be determined by school-wide election.

  2. Membership will be composed of five elected faculty members, an ex-officio associate dean or designee from the school, one or two non-voting staff member(s), and one non-voting student representative from a program in the School of Health Professions.

  3. Members will serve a three-year term.

  4. Each member has one vote.

  5. No member will serve two consecutive terms.

  6. No more than two members may have a primary affiliation within the same department or division of the School of Health Professions.

II. Selection of the Chair

  1. The chair's term of office will be a one-year commitment.

  2. The chair shall be an elected member of the committee.

  3. The chair will be a voting member of the committee.

  4. The chair may be self-nominated, will have at least one year of experience on the committee, and will be approved by a majority of the current committee members.

  5. In the event that a member vacates the committee during their term, the steering committee will name another member to the committee.

III. Functions of the Chair

  1. The chair will serve as representative to the school's steering committee.

  2. The chair will be a voting member of the committee.

  3. The chair will make two reports per year to the school's faculty.

  4. The chair will be knowledgeable of the school's faculty governance bylaws.

  5. The chair will select members of the committee to assist with preparation of agendas, reservation of the meeting room, and to record minutes of the committee.

  6. The chair will preside at all meetings of the committee, or make accommodations for another member to do so in event of absence.

IV. Functions of the Committee

  1. Enhance knowledge and appreciation of cultural practices among faculty, students, staff, and community in the School of Health Professions.

  2. Promote best practices and the acquisition of new knowledge as it relates to culture and diversity.

  3. Develop initiatives for encouraging diversity and cultural appreciation within the school through programming and funding opportunities, including scholarships.

  4. Advance interprofessional collaboration with other KU/KU Medical Center divisions and stakeholders to advance cultural knowledge and appreciation, especially related to education, service, and research.

V. Procedures of the Committee

  1. A quorum will be three of the five voting members.

  2. Decisions will be made by a majority of voting members present.

  3. Minutes will be kept of each committee meeting.

  4. The semiannual report by the chair of the committee, and other related documents, will be saved to the committee's designated folder on the shared network drive.

Last modified: Jul 19, 2021