Skip to main content.

Office of the Dean

Learn about the Office of the Dean at KU School of Health Professions.

The Office of the Dean is located in room 1024 on the first floor of Murphy Administration Building. The office is across the hall from KU Medical Center's Office of Alumni and Community Relations.

To schedule an appointment, please contact Kayla Bortka at 913-588-5235 (711 TTY). 

Our office includes school administration and staff responsible for business affairs, student affairs, communications, graphics and online content, student recruitment, grant support, information technology and other needs of the school.

School Administration

David Burnett portrait
Associate Dean, Community Engagement and Workforce Initiatives, School of Health Professions

Heather Gibbs portrait
Assistant Dean, Student Affairs, School of Health Professions

Jeffrey Radel portrait
Associate Dean, Academic and Student Affairs, School of Health Professions

Jacob Sosnoff portrait
Associate Dean, Research, School of Health Professions

LesLee Taylor portrait
Assistant Dean, Faculty Affairs, School of Health Professions

Office of the Dean Staff

Kayla Bortka
Administrative Assistant, Office of the Dean and Faculty Practice

kbortka@kumc.edu
913-588-5235
Room 1024, Murphy Administration Building


Terry Erisman
Information Resource Specialist

terisman@kumc.edu
913-588-4411
Room 4044, School of Nursing Building


Warren Hays
Pre-award Grant Administrator

whays2@kumc.edu

913-588-5235


Tim Hunt
IT Analyst

thunt2@kumc.edu
913-588-8966
Room 1008, Wescoe Pavilion


Alex Lopez
Outreach and Recruitment Specialist

alopez12@kumc.edu
913-588-1743
Room 1037, Wescoe Pavilion


Erin Manuel, MBA
Director of Finance and Administration

emanuel@kumc.edu
913-588-5235
Room 4040,School of Nursing Building


Bonny Murrell
Budget Analyst

bmurrell@kumc.edu
913-588-5235
Room 4040, School of Nursing Building


Tiffany Pollard
Executive Officer

tpollard2@kumc.edu
913-588-5235
Room 1024, Murphy Administration Building


Rachel Sherley
Director of Operations

rsherley@kumc.edu
913-588-5235
Room 4040, School of Nursing Building


Keith Taylor
Administrative Officer

ktaylor24@kumc.edu
913-588-5235
Room 4040, School of Nursing Building


Dennis Wieneke
Post-award Grant Administrator

dwieneke@kumc.edu
913-588-5235
Room 3010 E, School of Nursing Building


A Message from Dean Abiodun Akinwuntan

Learn what makes KU School of Health Professions a leader in education, research, clinical practice and service.

Read the Dean's Message
KU School of Health Professions

KU School of Health Professions
KU Medical Center
3901 Rainbow Blvd
Mailstop 2007
Kansas City, KS 66160
913-588-5235 • 711 TTY
healthprofessions@kumc.edu