Skip to main content.

About the Office of the Dean

The Office of the Dean is located in room 1024 on the first floor of Murphy Administration Building. The office is across the hall from KU Medical Center Alumni and Community Relations. Contact Christi Jones at 913-588-5235 (711 TTY) to schedule an appointment. 

The Office of the Dean includes:

  • School administration
  • Support staff responsible for business affairs, student affairs, communications, graphics/web design, grant support, information technology and other needs of the school

Leadership Team

Abiodun Akinwuntan portrait
Dean, KU School of Health Professions

David Burnett portrait
Associate Dean for Faculty Practice and Community Partnership, and Department Chair, Respiratory Care & Diagnostic Science

Jeff Radel portrait
Associate Dean for Academic and Student Affairs

Jacob Sosnoff portrait
Associate Dean for Research

Department Chairs

David Burnett portrait
Department Chair, Respiratory Care and Diagnostic Science

Eric Elsinghorst portrait
Department Chair, Chair, University of Kansas Medical Center, SHP-Kansas City

Patricia Kluding portrait
Department Chair, Physical Therapy, Rehabilitation Science, and Athletic Training

Rosann Blackmore portrait
Department Chair, Health Information Management

Donna Nyght portrait
Department Chair, Chair, Department of Nurse Anesthesia Education, SHP-Kansas City

Dory Sabata portrait
Department Chair, Occupational Therapy Education

Debra Sullivan portrait
Department Chair, SHP-Kansas City

Office of the Dean Staff

Kayla Bortka
Administrative Clerk

Email: kbortka@kumc.edu


Terry Erisman
Information Resource Specialist

Email: terisman@kumc.edu


Tim Hunt
Network Specialist

Email: thunt2@kumc.edu


Christi Jones
Business, Student Affairs, and Project Manager

Email: cjones24@kumc.edu


Thanh Koontz
Administrative Assistant

Email: tkoontz@kumc.edu


Alex Lopez
Outreach and Recruitment Specialist

Email: alopez12@kumc.edu


Erin Manuel, MBA
Administrative Clerk

Email: emanuel@kumc.edu


Tiffany Pollard
Executive Assistant

Email: tpollard2@kumc.edu


Dennis Wieneke
Post-Award Grant Manager

Email: dwieneke@kumc.edu


A Message from Dean Abiodun Akinwuntan

Learn what makes KU School of Health Professions a leader in education, research, clinical practice and service.

Read the Dean's Message
KU School of Health Professions

KU School of Health Professions
KU Medical Center
3901 Rainbow Blvd
Mailstop 2007
Kansas City, KS 66160
913-588-5235 • 711 TTY
healthprofessions@kumc.edu