Skip to main content.

INBRE grants, key elements

The IDeA Networks of Biomedical Research Excellence promote the development, coordination and sharing of research resources and expertise that will expand the research opportunities and increase the number of competitive investigators in the IDeA eligible states.

Each INBRE grantee establishes a multidisciplinary research network with a scientific focus that may support one or more of these initiatives:

  • build and strengthen the lead and partner institutions’ biomedical research expertise and infrastructure;
  • build and increase the research base and capacity by providing research support to faculty, postdoctoral fellows, and graduate students at the participating institutions;
  • provide research opportunities for undergraduate students and serve as a “pipeline” for undergraduate students to continue in health research careers within IDeA states;
  • provide outreach activities to students at undergraduate institutions, community colleges, and tribal colleges participating in the state’s network; and
  • enhance science and technology knowledge of the state’s workforce.

Principal Investigator Criteria:

  • institution must have held a Biomedical Research Infrastructure Network (BRIN) award;
  • an established biomedical or behavioral scientist who has demonstrated the administrative abilities to carry out effectively the objectives of INBRE program and meet its goals;
  • strong scientific credentials.

Who is eligible to apply for an INBRE grant?

Twenty-three states and Puerto Rico, which comprise the IDeA network, are eligible to compete for an INBRE grant.

  • Alaska
  • Arkansas
  • Delaware
  • Hawaii
  • Idaho
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maine
  • Mississippi
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • Nevada
  • New Hampshire
  • New Mexico
  • North Dakota
  • Oklahoma
  • Rhode Island
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Vermont
  • West Virginia
  • Wyoming
  • Puerto Rico