Skip to main content.

CIPER Structure and Committees

diagram of ciper org structure


CIPER is funded by the Executive Vice Chancellor's office and sits in the Vice Chancellor of Academic and Student Affairs office under the Associate Vice Chancellor of Student Affairs. Governed by a Dean's Council comprised of the Dean of Nursing, Sally Maliski;  Dean of Pharmacy, Ron Ragan; Dean of Medicine, Akinlolu Ojo and Dean of Health Professions, Abiodun Akinwuntan as well as Deans of Medicine, Garold Minns and Pharmacy, Robert Emerson from Wichita; Dean of Medicine, Robert Moser and; Dean of Nursing, Lisa Larson from Salina. 

Curriculum Committee

Consult and maintain IPE activities for overarching CIPER programming. Inform new program design and track programs for IPEC competencies. Identify gaps and opportunities to expand.

Co-Leads: Renee Hodgkins (Clinical Lab Science) and Kristy Johnston (CIPER).

Participants: Renee Hodgkins (Clinical Lab Science), Delois Laverentz (Nursing), Serra Goodman (CIPER), Jennifer Jones (Clinical Lab Science), Michael Waxman (Medicine), Ashley Crowl (Pharmacy) and Ryan Gove (Student Governance).

Learning In Practice

Identify and develop new Interprofessional Education opportunities in clinical practice settings.

Co-Leads: Sarah Shrader (Pharmacy) and Kristy Johnston (CIPER).

Participants:  Jim Backes (Pharmacy), Shelley Bhattacharya (Medicine), Yvonne Colgrove (Physical Therapy, Rehabilitation Science, and Athletic Training), Ashley Crowl (Pharmacy), Kay Folck (Health Information Management), Jeannine Goetz (Dietetics and Nutrition), Serra Goodman (CIPER), Joyce Grayson (Rural), Joe Heidrick (Pharmacy), Kelly Jones (Social Welfare), Jennifer Jones (Clinical Lab Science), Mike Kennedy (Medicine - Rural Health), Michelle Levy (Social Welfare), Alyson Luckenbach (Nursing), Hannah Maxfield (Medicine) and Mary Beth Warren (AHEC). 

Faculty Development 

Create new faculty development opportunities for faculty preceptors, clinicians and staff who are engaged in Interprofessional Education and Practice.

Participants: Steve Jernigan (Physical Therapy, Rehabilitation Science, and Athletic Training), Kristy Johnston (CIPER) and Sarah Shrader (Pharmacy)

Assessment and Scholarship

Facilitate innovative IP education and practice research efforts on campus. Provide oversight of the Interprofessional Research Umbrella protocol. Define a broad longitudinal plan to assess KUMC IPE & practice programs.

Co-Leads:  Kristy Johnston (CIPER), Steve Jernigan (Physical Therapy, Rehabilitation Science, and Athletic Training)

Participants: Ellen Averett (Health, Policy and Management), Shelley Bhattacharya (Medicine), Cara Busenhart (Nursing), Heather Gibbs (Dietetics and Nutrition), Serra Goodman (CIPER), Renee Hodgkins (Clinical Lab Sciences), Jessica Kalender-Rich (Medicine), Emma Nguyen (Medicine) and Sarah Shrader (Pharmacy)