Skip to main content

Dr. R. M. Varma, Dr. K. S. Mani and Dr. Setti S. Rengachary (VMR) Resident Scholarship Program

VMR Deadline 2019



This scholarship program was established in honor of three outstanding physicians, Dr. R. M. Varma, Dr. K.S. Mani and Dr. Setti S. Rengachary, and their immense contributions to the field of Neuroscience.  

Dr Raja Martanda Varma was one of India's first neurosurgeons and for decades worked on holistic approaches to improving the lives of his patients. An accomplished surgeon, researcher and teacher, Dr. Varma founded and directed the Neurosurgery Department at the National Institute of Mental Health and Neuro Sciences (NIMHANS) in Bangalore in 1958.   

Dr. K. S. Mani was a noted neurologist with a broad range of interests, foremost among them his dedication to improving the lives of epilepsy patients.  Dr. Mani started the Department of Neurology at the All India Institute of Mental Health and Sciences (later reorganized as the NIMHANS) in Bangalore in 1957 and was active throughout his life as a member of the Indian Epilepsy Assocation.

Dr. Setti S. Rengachary was a neurosurgeon specializing in spinal reconstruction and the treatment of spinal trauma.  After completing his residency in neurosurgery at KUMC, Dr. Rengachary worked for the VA Medical Center in Kansas City and was also part of the academic staff at KUMC.  An accomplished academic, his neurosurgical textbooks are referenced world-wide. 


Awarded annually, this scholarship provides up to $5000 to Neuroscience residents who want to complete a month-long International Educational Experience. The funds can be used to pay for living and travel expenses associated with the experience as well as to cover any international tuition, medical travel insurance and other fees as approved.


Candidacy is open to all KU neurology and neurosurgery residents who are not in their final year of training.  The country of study must be different than the country of residence and applicants should not have had prior formal medical training experience in the proposed country.  

*Exceptions will be made for candidates from psychiatry and the basic neurosciences.  

The proposed experience must also meet the Office of Graduate Medical Education (GME) and the Office of International Programs (OIP) policies regarding international experiences.  Scholarship recipients will be required to complete the GME International Resident Elective application packet.

Questions may be directed to Kimberly Connelly in the Office of International Programs.

List of Award Winners

Britton Zuccarelli - Mexico - December 2015
Matthew Markert - Nepal - April 2017
Anai Masaki - London - March 2018
Emmanuel Mantilla Jr - Philippines - May 2018
Matthew Varon - London - March 2019
Benjamin Chapin - Norwich - May/June 2019

Zuccarelli, Britton

If any file format on our website prevents you from accessing the information, please contact for assistance. In order to respond in a manner most helpful to you, please note the nature of your accessibility concern, the format in which you prefer to receive the material, the web page address of the requested material, and the best way to contact you.

Last modified: Sep 09, 2020