Skip to main content.
7th Midwest Tumor Microenvironment Meeting at the University of Kansas Medical Center, Kansas City, KS in 2022
1:00-1:15 p.m. Welcome
1:15-2:30 p.m.  Oral Presentations: Session I. Modeling the Tumor Microenvironment
Chair: David Beebe, PhD, Professor of Biomedical Engineering, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Speaker 1: Aubie Shaw, PhD, Assistant Professor of Biomedical Sciences, University of Minnesota
Speaker 2: Steve Seung-Young Lee, PhD, Assistant Professor of Pharmaceutical Sciences,
University of Illinois at Chicago
Young Investigator Award: TBA
2:30-2:50 p.m. Coffee break
3:00-3:30 p.m. Jeffrey Hildesheim, PhD, Chief, Tumor Biology and Microenvironment Branch, National
Cancer Institute
3:30-4:15 p.m. Panel discussion: "Lessons on NIH reviewing from three guys named Mike"
Chair: Shrikant Anant, PhD, Professor & Chair of Cancer Biology, University of Kansas 
Medical Center
Panelist 1: Michael Henry, PhD, Professor of Molecular Physiology and Biophysics, University 
of Iowa
Panelist 2: Michael Dwinell, PhD, Professor of Microbiology and Immunology, Medical College 
of Wisconsin
Panelist 3: Michael Wendt, PhD, Associate Professor Medicinal Chemistry and Molecular 
Pharmacology, Purdue University
4:15-5:00 p.m. Poster Blitz I
6:30-9:00 p.m. Dinner
7:00-7:30 a.m. Yoga
7:30-8:30 a.m. Breakfast
8:00-9:00 a.m. Plenary Session: Keynote address by Theresa Whiteside, PhD, University of Pittsburgh School
of Medicine, Pittsburgh, PA
9:00-10:15 a.m.  Oral Presentations: Session II. Acellular Components and Novel Therapeutics 
Chair: Danny Dhanasekaran, PhD, Professor of Cell Biology, University of Oklahoma Health
Sciences Center
Speaker 1: Luis Solorio, PhD, Assistant Professor of Biomedical Engineering, Purdue University
Speaker 2: Joan Lewis Wambi, PhD, Associate Professor of Cancer Biology, University of Kansas
Medical Center
Young Investigator Award: TBA
10:15-10:40 a.m. Coffee break
10:45-Noon Oral Presentations: Session III. Stromal Epithelial Cross-Talk 
Chair: Deborah Rubin, MD, Professor of Medicine, Washington University School of Medicine in
St. Louis
Speaker 1: Lisa Arendt, PhD, Assistant Professor of Comparative Biosciences, University of
Speaker 2: Sunila Pradeep, PhD, Assistant Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology, Medical
College of Wisconsin
Young Investigator Award: TBA
Noon-1:00 p.m. Lunch 
1:00-2:30 p.m. Poster Session
2:30-3:45 p.m. Oral Presentations: Session IV. Microbes and Inflammation in Cancer 

Chair: Shahid Umar, PhD, Professor & Vice Chair of Surgery, University of Kansas Medical Center
Speaker 1: Grace Chen, MD, PhD, Associate Professor of Hematology and Oncology, University
of Michigan
Speaker 2: Thomas Attard, MD, Professor of Pediatrics, University of Missouri-Kansas City
School of Medicine
Speaker 3: Mary Philip, MD, PhD, Assistant Professor of Medicine, Pathology, Microbiology, 
Immunology, Vanderbilt
Young Investigator Award: TBA

3:45-4:10 p.m. Coffee break
4:15-5:00 p.m. Poster Blitz II
6:00-10:00 p.m.  Social & Dinner at Char Bar

8:30-9:00 a.m. Breakfast
9:00-10:15 a.m.  Oral Presentations: Session V. Functions of the Stroma in Cancer 
Chair: Ann Richmond, PhD, Professor & Chair of Cancer Biology, Vanderbilt
Speaker 1: Laurie Littlepage, PhD, Assistant Professor of Chemistry, University of Notre Dame
Speaker 2: Paola Vermeer, PhD, Assistant Professor of Surgery, University of South Dakota
Young Investigator Award: TBA
10:15-10:40 a.m.  Coffee Break
10:45-Noon Oral Presentations: Session VI. TME Interactome in Cancer Progression

Chair: Pankaj Singh, PhD, Professor of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, University of
Nebraska Medical Center
Speaker 1: Alexandra Naba, PhD, Assistant Professor of Physiology and Biophysics, University
of Illinois at Chicago
Speaker 2: Michael Vansaun, Assistant Professor, University of Kansas Medical Center
Speaker 3: TBA

Noon Adieu with a Box Lunch