Skip to main content

Research Institute

 Funding and Grants Policies and Procdures FormsHRPP

Mission Statement

The mission of the Research Institute is to support the research enterprise and to promote and support scientific discovery by providing the best quality service possible to our faculty, staff and students.

Goals and Objectives

  • Serve KUMC by promoting and operating at the highest level in providing a customer service environment, yet recognizing our fiduciary responsibility and upholding ethical standards.
  • Foster relationships among individual, multiple and consortium partnerships on behalf of KUMC researchers at the local, state, national and international biomedical research communities.
  • Foster relationships among our researchers and the technology transfer community, capitalizing on our discovery through research opportunities with the private sector.
  • Facilitate cooperative and productive research partnerships, both domestically and internationally among KUMC, KU-Lawrence, research centers and other bioscience organizations throughout the Kansas and the Greater Kansas City metropolitan area.

University of Kansas Medical Center Research Institute
Contact Information

Research Institute Executive Staff
Kelly Robertson - Executive Assistant
krobertson@kumc.edu
(913) 588-5436

Matthias Salathe, M.D.
msalathe@kumc.edu 
(913) 588-6000
Interim Vice Chancellor for Research, University of Kansas Medical Center
Interim President, University of Kansas Medical Center Research Institute

Peter Smith, Ph.D
psmith@kumc.edu
(913) 588-5970
Sr. Associate Vice Chancellor for Research

Lisa Hoebelheinrich, J.D.
lhoebelheinrich@kumc.edu
(913) 588-5589
Associate Vice Chancellor for Research Administration, KUMC
Executive Director, KUMC Research Institute

Kansas City Campus Physical Address:
4330 Shawnee Mission Parkway
Fairway, KS 66205

Mailing Address:
3901 Rainbow Boulevard, Mailstop 1039
Kansas City, KS 66160

Fax: (913) 588-3225

Wichita Campus
1010 North Kansas
Wichita KS 67214-3199
kuwichitaresearch@kumc.edu
Phone: (316) 293-2617
Fax: (316) 293-2686

Clinical Research Management
Jennifer Staley - Director
jstaley@kumc.edu
(913) 945-6683

Sponsored Programs Administration
Mario Medina, Ph.D - Director
mmedina3@kumc.edu
(913) 588-6570

CRA Budgets and Contracts
Ecy Bullock - Director
ebullock@kumc.edu
(913) 588-5763

Financial Services and Research Contracts Office
Paul Toler - Director
ptoler@kumc.edu
(913) 588-5313

Research Communications and Education
Jaime Phalp - Director
jcaples@kumc.edu
(913) 574-0419

Accounts Payable 
Ashlee Fishback - Controller
afishback@kumc.edu
(913) 588-5749

Revenue and Fund Management
Ashlee Fishback - Controller
afishback@kumc.edu
(913) 588-5749

 

Last modified: Oct 29, 2020
Upcoming
ID=x1726