Skip to main content.

2024 Alumni Award Recipients

Congratulations to the 2024 Alumni Award honorees! The recipients will be honored at a recognition ceremony on September 27, 2024, during KU Medical Center's annual Alumni Reunion Weekend. 

Send your congrats to the recipients!

KU School of Health Professions

Lauren Ptomey portrait

Early Career Achievement in Health Professions Alumna
Lauren Ptomey, PhD'13, MS'11
Assistant Dean for Medical Education & Associate Professor, Family Medicine and Community Health
KU School of Medicine
University of Kansas Medical Center

Lynn Bott portrait

Honorary Health Professions Alumnus
Lynn Bott, MS, AT/Retired
Director of Sports Medicine
Baker University

Katie Brown portrait

Distinguished Health Professions Alumna
Katie Brown, EdD, MS'94, RDN
National Dairy Council
Executive Vice President
Dairy Management Inc.

KU School of Medicine

Justin Mills portrait

Early Career Achievement in Medicine Alumnus
Justin A. Mills, MD'06, R'09, MPH, FAAP
Medical Officer, Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)
United States Preventive Services Task Force

Mario Castro portrait

Honorary Medical Alumnus
Mario Castro, MD, MPH
L.E. Phillips and Lenora Carr Phillips Professor of Medicine
Vice Chair for Clinical and Translational Research
Director, Frontiers Clinical and Translational Science Institute
KU School of Medicine
University of Kansas Medical Center
Chief, Division of Pulmonary, Critical Care and Sleep Medicine
The University of Kansas Health System

Jack Stapleton portrait

Distinguished Medical Alumnus
Jack T. Stapleton, MD'80
Professor, Division of Infectious Diseases
Departments of Internal Medicine, Microbiology and Immunology
Director, Helen C. Levitt Center for Viral Pathogenesis
The University of Iowa and Iowa City VA Healthcare System

KU School of Nursing

Jennifer McNiel portrait

Early Career Achievement in Nursing Alumna
Jennifer McNiel, MSN, BSN'08, RN, CPHQ
Director of Nursing Excellence & Magnet Program
The University of Kansas Health System

Mary Beth Warren portrait

Honorary Nursing Alumna
Mary Beth Warren, MS, RN
University of Kansas Medical Center

Christine Pabico portrait

Distinguished Nursing Alumna
Christine Pabico, PhD'19, RN, NE-BC, FAAN
Director, Pathway to Excellence®
American Nurses Credentialing Center

Alumni Relations