Skip to main content

Community Engagement

Community Engagement > Sponsored Awards > Faculty Enduring Achievement Award

Faculty Award for Enduring Scholarship in Community Engagement

This award recognizes KU Medical Center faculty for excellence in developing, implementing and sustaining regional engaged scholarship initiatives. Award recipients will receive $5,000.

Community engagement, according to the Carnegie Classification Project (McCormick & Zhao, 2005), "describes the collaboration between higher education institutions and their larger communities (local, regional/state, national, global) for the mutually beneficial exchange of knowledge and resources in a context of partnership and reciprocity." Piercy, Stoudt, Asselin and Tilley-Lubbs (2011) provide additional clarification regarding work that is worthy of this award in their white paper, noting that "Characteristics most associated with engaged scholarship include:

  • A partnership between university and community groups;
  • Which is reciprocal;
  • Mutually beneficial;
  • Respectful;
  • Transparent;
  • Replicable; and
  • Publically accountable;
  • Hierarchy is minimized;
  • Teaching, research, and/or service takes place;
  • Impact is assessed and documented; and
  • Scholarship is an integral component."


All University of Kansas Medical Center faculty members with a full-time or part-time appointment at the Kansas City, Wichita or Salina campuses who have a demonstrated commitment to community engagement (i.e. multiple projects and/or multiple years) and  who have not previously received this award are eligible. Volunteer faculty are not eligible.

Nomination Process

Nominations by deans and department heads, faculty colleagues or self-nominations will be accepted. 

Nominations require the electronic submission of (1) an abbreviated CV (no more than 5 pages) emphasizing engaged scholarship activities and (2) a nomination letter. Letters should include specific examples of how the nominee's engaged scholarship work has improved the health of Kansans and/or Midwesterners and beyond. Letters should also include the following:

  • Geographical location for project(s)/event(s). Remember, preference is given to rural and/or underserved Kansas communities, so be sure to highlight those.
  • Number of community members impacted.
  • How the work impacted student learning/academics.
  • How the work impacted research.
  • How the work impacted the health of communities.
  • Unique/exemplary attributes of this work.
  • *For those nominating others (self-nominees see finalists criteria, below): Enduring nature of the nominee's work (that is, multiple projects and/or multiple years) and the scholarly nature of that enduring work.  

The completed nomination must be submitted no later than 11:59 p.m. on March 1 to

Nominees who are considered finalists for the award will be notified and asked to submit:

  • Two (2) letters of support from the community summarizing
    • how the nominee worked with the community to identify a need,
    • how the nominee's work addressed that need, and
    • the enduring benefits of the nominee's work within the community.  

*For those finalists who self-nominated, you will be asked to also submit:

  • One (1) letter from a faculty member/supervisor addressing the enduring nature of the nominee's work (that is, multiple projects and/or multiple years) and the scholarly nature of that enduring work.

Past Recipients

Check out the previous award winners.

Last modified: Jul 26, 2018
At a Glance

Shield icon

Award Amount: $5,000

Questions? Contact
Ryan Spaulding, Ph.D.
(913) 588-2251