Skip to main content

Night @ The Lab

Night @ The Lab

Congratulations to Olathe North High School
2020 Night @ The Lab Champions

Click here to view their winning presentation

History of Night @ The Lab

Night @ The Lab is an exciting new program from the KU Medical Center Area Health Education Center that was created to provide an opportunity for high school students to (a) explore the connections between health and science and (b) showcase their knowledge to the community.

This program gives students the opportunity to research medical topics and create a visual display as well as an oral presentation. Together, the students will gain valuable experience in both research skills and professional presentation skills.

Each school participating will have one team of three students to represent their school at one of the six regional competitions across the state. Each team's presentation will be judged by a panel of community volunteers. The top team from each of the regional competitions will advance to the statewide competition held at the KU Medical Center where medical center staff and faculty will judge the presentations. The teams advancing to the statewide competition will be rewarded with hotel accommodations, meals and a behind-the-scenes look at the KU Medical Center.

This project was piloted in the Garden City High School Health Sciences Academy in April 2013 and saw tremendous success.

Night @ The Lab Statewide Winners

2020 - Olathe North High School (Nipam Raval and Darya Mohammadzadeh; Sponsor - L.B. Fogt)

2019 - Hays High School (Marrissa Raynesford, Taylor Weidenhoft, and Mulu Bannister; Sponsor - Lynn Zimmerman)

2018 - Hays High School (Ginny Ke, Callie Raache, and Johnny Fuller; Sponsor - Dan Dickerson)

2017 - Shawnee Mission Center for Academic Advancement (Laura Hassett, Kara McCaskey, and Lauren McCaskey; Sponsor - Connie Gandy)

2016 - Central Heights High School (Paige Stockard, Olivia Stockard, Riley Roll; Sponsor - Amanda Stinebaugh)

2015 - Shawnee Mission North High School (Edan Belihu, Nancy Dinh-Phan, and Oluoma Obi; Sponsor - Connie Gandy)

2014 - Wheatland High School (Lascy Ostmeyer, Allison Ryburn, and Taylor Tustin; Sponsor - Monica Countryman)

2013 - Frontenac High School (Kamri Brynds and Aubrey Vena; Sponsor - Julie Mahnken)

Last modified: Jan 13, 2021
Stay Connected
Follow us on LinkedIn
Facebook link Like us on Facebook
Twitter link Follow us on Twitter
Follow us on Instagram

Make a Gift to the AHEC

Click below to make a gift to help support the AHEC's health care career promotion programing.