Skip to main content.

Excellence in Postdoctoral Scholarship Awards

The Excellence in Postdoctoral Scholarship Awards recognizes the promise and contributions of postdoctoral scholars at the University of Kansas Medical Center.

Postdoc Award Winners

These awards elevate those who exemplify excellence in education and research in postdoctoral scholarship, which is a critical part of the mission of the University and its research enterprise.  Each award includes financial support for the continued professional development of postdoctoral scholars at a critical time in their careers, as well as acknowledgment of the important contributions made by scholars at the University.  In addition, designated awards highlight and support underrepresented minority and women scholars, recongizing that historically, these groups of scholars have been significantly underrepresented in STEM fields.  These awards are an important part of increasing the visibility of these early-career role models and supporting their continued success in their fields. 

The Excellence in Postdoctoral Scholarship Awards is made possible by a grant from the KUMC Auxiliary.  

The University of Kansas Medical Center Distinguished Postdoctoral Scholar Award

A postdoctoral scholar, nominated by faculty, recognized for outstanding contributions to their lab, the University, the community, and their field.

  • 2016 Distinguished Postdoctoral Scholar: Jill Morris, Ph.D., KU Alzheimer's Disease Center; faculty mentor Jeffrey Burns, PhD

The Allen B. Rawitch Postdoctoral Professional Excellence Awards

Named for Allen Rawitch, Ph.D., Professor in the Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology and retired Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs who has played a critical role in cultivating the postdoctoral community at the University and demonstrated commitment to the success of postdoctoral scholars as an integral part of the educational mission and research enterprise of the institution.

Recipients are selected based on their professional achievements, leadership, and promise.  The award provides funds for travel, books, lab materials and other scholarly activities directly enhancing the professional growth of the applicant.  Four awards are given:

Outstanding Woman Scholars

  • Heather Wilkins, Ph.D., KU Alzheimer's Disease Center; faculty mentor Russell Swerdlow, PhD
  • Damayanti Chakraborty, Ph.D., Institute for Reproductive Health and Regenerative Medicine; faculty mentor Michael Soares, Ph.D.

Professional Excellence Awards

  • Hemant Chavan, Ph.D., Department of Pharmacology, Toxicology, and Therapeutics; faculty mentor Partha Kasturi, PhD
  • Aritra Bhattacherjee, Ph.D., Department of Molecular and Integrative Physiology; faculty mentor Peter Smith, PhD

Recipients are selected by a group of faculty reviewers.  

The Office of Postdoctoral Affairs also recognizes Postdoctoral Mentors for their vital role in Postdoctoral Scholarship at KUMC.  Recognition of excellence amongst faculty postdoctoral mentors takes place with the Executive Dean's Distinguished Mentoring Awards.  Postdoctoral scholars are encouraged to nominate a mentor for this award each summer, with awards presented at the Faculty Retreat in August. 

Office of Postdoctoral Affairs & Graduate Studies

University of Kansas Medical Center
Office of Postdoctoral Affairs
1005 Dykes Library
Mail Stop 1040
3901 Rainbow Boulevard
Kansas City, KS 66160
Phone: 913-588-2369