Skip to main content.

KU Medical Center’s 22nd annual K-INBRE symposium recognizes bioscience students from across Kansas and Oklahoma

At an annual event to encourage careers in research, KU Medical Center celebrated the achievements of 18 undergraduate students from 10 universities.

Student stands beside a faculty member while explaining her research on a screen beside them
University of Kansas student Alexa Magstadt shares her project with David Eichhorn, Ph.D., associate dean for faculty development and research and professor of chemistry at Wichita State University.

The 22nd annual Kansas IDeA Network of Biomedical Research Excellence (K-INBRE) Symposium last month in Manhattan, Kansas, celebrated the remarkable achievements of 18 undergraduate students from 10 institutions in Kansas and Oklahoma. Led by the University of Kansas Medical Center, this collaborative network aims to prepare and inspire promising students for careers in bioscience.

The annual symposium serves as a platform for students, faculty and researchers to showcase their scientific endeavors, fostering collaboration and knowledge exchange. Under the guidance of faculty mentors, students engaged in presenting poster and oral presentations, highlighting the diverse range of research projects undertaken.

"The symposium is a testament to the commitment of our students and faculty in advancing the biomedical sciences in Kansas,” said Douglas Wright, Ph.D., principal investigator for K-INBRE and professor of anesthesiology and perioperative medicine at KU Medical Center. “It provides a unique opportunity for students to exhibit their hard work and for faculty researchers to share groundbreaking developments in the field."

Student stands beside faculty member as they both look at a research poster on a large monitor

Kansas State University student Sabrina Veith and K-INBRE
program director John Stanford, Ph.D., professor of cell
biology and physiology at KU Medical Center, examine the
results of a presentation.

As K-INBRE continues to shape the future of bioscience in Kansas and Oklahoma, the annual symposium remains a pivotal event in recognizing and nurturing talent within the academic and research community.

The participating institutions included KU Medical Center, Emporia State University, Fort Hays State University, Haskell Indian Nations University, Kansas State University, Pittsburg State University, University of Kansas, Washburn University, Wichita State University and Langston University in Oklahoma. This program was made possible by an Institutional Development Award (IDeA) from the National Institute of General Medical Sciences of the National Institutes of Health.

K-INBRE Student Prizewinners

Emporia State University

David Claridge presented “Assessing Plant Derived Antioxidants for a Protective Effect Against Pesticides in the Honeybee Gut.”

Sofia Steigner, junior in Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, presented “Determination of Psychoactive Compounds in CBD Oils via RP-HPLC-UV/Vis Analysis.”

Fort Hays State University

Camryn Greving, senior in Biology, presented “Distribution of the 2-micron Plasmid in Various Strains of Saccharomyces cerevisiae.”

Kansas State University

Michael Bartkoski, senior in Biochemistry and Microbiology, presented “Understanding the role of neurotransmitter receptors in anti-Aspergillus fumigatus immunity.”

Halle Ness, junior in Psychology, presented “Sex differences in active avoidance strategies.”

Jillian Rockley, sophomore in Medical Biochemistry, presented “Role of asparagine synthetase and other transcriptional factor targets in epidermal morphogenesis.”

Grace Schieferecke, junior in Medical Microbiology, presented “Molecular Analysis of Benzimidazole Resistance in Hookworms in Kansas Dogs.”

Langston University (Langston, Oklahoma)

Daysha Isaac presented “Stalk cell movement in Drosophila: a model to understand how migrating cells shape tissues and organs.”

Kayla Smith, senior in Agricultural Science, presented “Impairments in Cerebral Autoregulation and Cerebrovascular Reactivity in Cancer Survivorship.”

Pittsburg State University

Alexandra Robinson, a sophomore in Biology and Chemistry, presented “Syntheses of Co-MOF, Ni-MOF, and Fe-MOF for applications in both electrocatalysis and energy storage using a single-step microwave method.”

University of Kansas

Jenna Barnes, junior in Molecular, Cellular, and Developmental Biology, presented “Impact of PTPN22 Autoimmunity-Associated Allele on Dendritic Cell Type-I Interferon Production.”

University of Kansas Medical Center

Ian Ensley, K-INBRE Summer Scholar student researcher at KU Medical Center and now a freshman in Molecular and Cellular Biology at Johns Hopkins University, presented “Hyaluronan Synthase (Has)2 in Has1 and Has3 Deficient Mice Protects Against Age Associated Weight Gain.”

Washburn University

Keetan Munsell, senior in Molecular Biology and Biotechnology, presented “Examining the Reproductive Ecology of Terrapene ornata in Western Nebraska; A Multi-year Study.”

Timothy Speer, senior in Environmental Biology, presented “Movement Ecology of Ornate Box Turtles (Terrapene ornata) across Different Life Stages.”

Wichita State University

Yousaf Khan, senior in Chemistry, presented “A new vaccine platform based on the selective targeting of dendritic cells by the binding component of the anthrax toxin, protective antigen”

Alia Michaelis, senior in Biochemistry, presented “Characterization cardiomyopathic point mutations of the Ig3 domain of myopalladin.”

Bao Nhu To, junior in Biology and Health Science, presented “Microbial Survival and Partitioning in Layered Ices Relevant to Mars.”

Julie Tran, junior in Chemistry, presented “Characterization of Cardiomyopathic Point Mutations in the Ig3 Domain of Myopalladin.”

Media Inquiries


News and Media Relations