Program Committees

The mission of WIMS two program committees is to plan all WIMS events and some of the programs recommended and sponsored by the University of Kansas Joy McCann Professor. "Events" included professional development programs, noon-time presentations, receptions, networking/mentoring or social gatherings and of course, the Bi-Annual WIMS Professional Development Conference which alternates with the Bi-Annual Retreat, and the Annual Awards Dinner. The WIMS Program Committee was the largest committee with the most time intense set of responsibilities and thus in the spring of 2014 was divided into separate committees based upon their projects.  They include:

  • Monthly Events & Programs
  • Major Events Planning Committee (Annual Dinner and the Bi-Annual Retreat or Professional Development Conference)
    • Chair: Laura Martin, PhD, Assistant Professor, Preventive Medicine and Hoglund Brain Imaging Center
  • Annual Donation Drive
    • Chair: Michelle Settle, Administrative Assistant, Orthopedic Research

Due to the amount of time and energy it takes to plan and support the programs of both committees, the Donation Drive wsa established in 2013 as a sub-committee.  Establishment of donor relationships and the professional experience required to run a drive, this group is chaired by an administrative support person who will remain the same from year to year (as long as she is willing) and is overseen by the Office of Academic Affairs (OAA) executive staff and the WIMS EC endowment representative. Members of the Donation Drive committee consists of trainees and other employees who volunteer their time to help each summer. Without this group, our donation drive would not be possible.

The two main program committee members and chairs determine when and how they meet but at a minimum, all meetings should be scheduled in August for the full year, on routine day and time each month.  Appointments for all meetings are to be sent by the OAA staff, including scheduling the rooms, sending the Outlook appointments and reminders, and posting all on the WIMS Calendar of Events.  Agendas and minutes are the responsibility of each committee chair.


Committe Members for Major Events (Althernating year Retreat and Conference, and the Annual Dinner):

  • Suzanne Dell-St. Clair, MS, CFRE, KU Endowment, Associate Development Director, Public Health and Family Medicine
  • In-Young Choi, PhD. Associate Professor, Hoglund Brain Imaging Center
  • Kelli Netson, Assistant Professor, Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences-Wichita
  • Tara Lin, MD,  Assistant Professor, Hematology/Oncology
  • Jyoti Paniker, Associate Professor, Pediatric Hematology/Oncology
  • Debra Sullivan, PhD, RD, Professor and Chair, Dietetics and Nutrition, School of Health Professions
  • Margaret Smith, MD, Clinical Assistant Professor, Family Medicine
  • Kari Ziblut, CMP, Senior Coordinator for SON Special Events, WIMS Conference/Retreat Planning Support

Committe Members for Monthly Events & Programs:

  • Erica Howe, MD, Assistant Professor, General and Geriatric Medicine
  • Michele Pritchard, PhD, Assistant Professor, Pharmacology, Toxicology and Therapeutics
  • Crystal Lumpkins, Assistant Professor, Family Medicine
  • Christina Hester, Research Assistant Professor, Family Medicine
  • Jessie Huisinga, PhD, Assistant Professor for the Human Performance Lab, Landon Center on Aging
  • Christie Befort, PhD, Associate Professor, Preventive Medicine and Public Health
  • Ellen Averett, PhD, MHSA, Research Assistant Professor, Health Policy and Management
  • Regina Esteban, Coordinator for Academic Affairs, WIMS Room Reservations & Catering Order Support

  Committee Members for Silent Auction and Fundraising;

  • Crystal Lumpkins, Assistant Professor, Family Medicine
  • Jessie Huisinga, PhD, Assistant Professor for the Human Performance Lab, Landon Center on Aging
  • Trainnees including graduate students and post-docs


Last modified: Jun 19, 2014