Executive Council

Executive councilThe Executive Council prioritizes goals, plans and directs activities for the WIMS Faculty Organization. Officers are elected and terms begin July 1. The president appoints committee chairs who serve during her term.

One mission of WIMS is "to be proactive and constructive in establishing and advancing the careers of women in medicine and science."  

Our WIMS Officers (President, President-Elect, Secretary, Secretary-Elect) change annually on July 1st, following an annual election.  Committee chairs are appointed by the WIMS President under which they serve. We believe by providing proper training during the office-elect year we will ensure a smooth "passing of the information baton" from the current officers and chairs to the incumbents, and set our leaders up to succeed so we do not fail at our mission to be proactive in advancing the careers of women.  This process will permit the organization to grow and continue to succeed for years to come, as well as turn out new leaders (or strengthen the skills of experienced leaders) among our women faculty in the Schools of Medicine, Nursing and Health Profession.

The council meets the second Wednesday of the month at noon, or as needed.

2013-14 Members

NameEC PositionDepartment
Belinda Vail, MD President 2013-14 Professor, Family Medicine
Christine Daley, PhD, MA, SM President-Elect 2013-14 Associate Professor, Preventative Medicine & Publih Health 
Paige Geiger, PhD Immediate Past President 2012-2013 Associate Professor, Molecular and Integrative Physiology
Mary Zimmerman, PhD McCann Professor 2013-2016 Professor, Health Policy & Management
Pam Shaw, MD Secretary 2013-14 Professor, Pediatrics
Lisa Stehno-Bittel, PT, PhD Secretary-elect Professor and Chair, Physical Therapy & Rehabilitation Sciences
Michele Pritchard, PhD SOM Representative (Basic Science) Professor, Pharmacology, Toxicology and Therapeutics
Jo Wick, PhD SOM Representative (Basic Science) Assistant Professor, Biostatistics
Crystal Lumpkins, PhD SOM Representative (Clinical Science) Assistant Professor, Family Medicine Research
Kelli Netson, MD (WI) SOM Representative (Clinical Science) Assistant Professor, Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences
Jill Peltzer, PhD, RN, APRN SON Representative Clinical Instructor, School of Nursing
Cynthia Teel, PhD, RN SON Representative Associate Dean-Graduate Programs, School of Nursing
Neena Sharma, PT, PhD, CMPT SHP Representative Assistant Professor, Physical Therapy and Rehabilitation Sciences
Trainee Representatives
KellyAnn Jones Grad Student Representative Graduate student
Asona Lui MD/PhD Representative MD/PhD student
Stacey DeJong, PhD Postdoctoral Representative Postdoctoral trainee
Maryan Nobari Tabrizi, MD Resident Representative Pediatrics
Committee chairs 
Laura Martin, PhD Program Co-Chair (Annual Conference & Dinner) Assistant Professor, Preventive Medicine and Hoglund Brain Imaging Center
Julie Christianson, PhD  Program Co-Chair (Monthly Events & Programs) Assistant Professor, Anatomy and Cell Biology
Melissa Oropeza-Vail, RN, BSN, CGRN  Recognition Co-Chair Nurse Practitioner, Nursing Clinical Excellence, Department of Nursing Central
Sarah Folscroft, MD Reognition Co-Chair Assistant Professor, General and Geriatric Medicine
Melissa Larson, PhD Mentoring Co-Chair Research Assistant Professor, Molecular and Integrative Physiology
Michele Pritchard, PhD Mentoring Co-Chair Assistant Professor, Pharmacology, Toxicology and Therapeutics 
Ex officio voting members
Robert Klein, PhD Office of Academic Affairs and Graduate Studies (OAA) Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs and Dean of Graduate Studies
Marty McLaughlin Office of Academic Affairs and Graduate Studies (OAA)  Executive Director
Alana Smith of Academic Affairs and Graduate Studies (OAA)  Executive Assistant to the Vice Chancellor for OAA
Allen Rawitch, PhD    
Lori Roop GME Representative Assistant Dean for Graduate Medical Education (GME)
Peggy Person Endowment KU Endowment, Development Director, SON, SHP
Stefani Buchwitz Office of Student Engagement Coordinator of Student Life


Volunteer Administrative Support Team Personnel 

 KUMC Staff Member WIMS Support Team Responsibilites KUMC Full Time Position
 Marty McLaughlin WIMS Strategic Advisor and Administrative Support Team Leader Executive Director, Office of Academic Affairs and Graduate Studies (OAA)
 Alana Smith Support for the Joy McCann Professor Executive Assistant to the Vice Chancellor for OAA, Office of Academic Affairs and Graduate Studies (OAA)
 Justine Karungi Moms in Medicine (MIMS) Administrative Support Assistant Director, Hoglund Brain Imaging Center

 Deb Brogden

Recognition Committee Admnistrative Support

Assistant to the Vice Chancellor for Administration

Sandi Sanchez Mentoring Committee Admnistrative Support Executive Assistant for the SON Student Affairs Office
Ashley Carlson, MS WIMS Post-Doc & Graduate Student Activities Administrative Support Assistant Director for the Office of Postdoctoral Affairs
Kari Ziblut Annual Conference & Dinner Administrative Support Senior Coordinator for SON Special Events
 Michele Settle Chair, Annual Donation Drive Administrative Assistant, Orthopedic Research

 Aubrey Bittel

WIMS Website Administorator Coordinator, Family Medicine Communications
Regina Esteban WIMS Administrative Assistant (including WIMS Calendar of Events, room reservations for events, catering requests) Coordinator for the Office of Academic Affairs and Graduate Studies

Last modified: Feb 17, 2014