Executive Council

KUMC Executive Council 2015 Elections RESULTS

Visit our Leadership & Infrastructure page for the results!

The Executive Council prioritizes goals, plans and directs activities for the WIMS Faculty Organization. Officers are elected and terms begin July 1. The president appoints committee chairs who serve during her term.

One mission of WIMS is "to be proactive and constructive in establishing and advancing the careers of women in medicine and science, nursing and health professions."  

Our WIMS Officers (President, President-Elect, Secretary, Secretary-Elect) change annually on July 1st, following an annual election.  Committee chairs are appointed by the WIMS President under which they serve. We believe by providing proper training during the office-elect year we will ensure a smooth "passing of the information baton" from the current officers and chairs to the incumbents, and set our leaders up to succeed so we do not fail at our mission to be proactive in advancing the careers of women.  This process will permit the organization to grow and continue to succeed for years to come, as well as turn out new leaders (or strengthen the skills of experienced leaders) among our women faculty in the Schools of Medicine, Nursing and Health Profession.

Effective July 2014, the council will meet twice a year: September 10th and  March 11th, at noon in 1074 Delp, or as needed.  The Leadership Team consists of all officers and committee chairs who will meet monthly.

2014-15 Members

NameEC PositionDepartment
Belinda Vail, MD Immediate Past President 2013-14 Professor, Family Medicine
Christine Daley, PhD, MA, SM President 2014-15 Associate Professor, Preventative Medicine & Publih Health 
 Christie Befort, PhD President Elect 2014-15 Associate Professor, Preventative medicine and Public Health, Co-Director, Breast Cancer Survivorship Center
Paige Geiger, PhD Community Liaison and 2012-13 WIMS President Associate Professor, Molecular and Integrative Physiology
Mary Zimmerman, PhD McCann Professor 2013-2016 Professor, Health Policy & Management
Lisa Stehno-Bittel, PT, PhD Secretary 2014-15 Professor and Chair, Physical Therapy & Rehabilitation Sciences
 Erica Howe, MD Secretary Elect 2014-15 Assistant Professor, General and Geriatric Medicine, Course Director, Doctors as Educators
Beth Levant, PhD SOM Representative (Basic Science) Professor, Pharmacology, Toxicology and Therapeutics
Jo Wick, PhD SOM Representative (Basic Science) Assistant Professor, Biostatistics
Ann Davis, PhD, MPH, ABPP SOM Representative (Clinical Science) Professor, Behavioral Pediatrics
Christina Hester, PhD SOM Representative (Clinical Science) Research Assistant Professor, Family Medicine
Karen Wambach, PhD, RN SON Representative Professor, School of Nursing
Lisa Ogawa, PhD, RN SON Representative Clinical Assistant Professor, School of Nursing
Catherine Siengsukon, PhD SHP Representative Assistant Professor, Physical Therapy and Rehabilitation Sciences Education
 Donna Nyght SHP Representative Clinical Assistant Professor and Chair, Nurse Anesthesia Education
Trainee Representatives
Briana Holt Grad Student Representative Graduate student, Pritchard Lab, Pharmacology, Toxicology and Therapeutics
Asona Lui MD/PhD Representative MD/PhD student, Molecular and Integrative Physiology
Rebecca J. Burkhalter, PhD Postdoctoral Representative Postdoctoral Fellow, Department of Pathology
Maryan Nobari Tabrizi, MD Resident Representative Resident, Pediatrics Residency Program
Committee chairs 
Crystal Lumpkins, PhD Diversity Committee (new) Assistant Professor, Family Medicine
Laura Martin, PhD Program Co-Chair (Annual Conference & Dinner) Assistant Professor, Preventive Medicine and Hoglund Brain Imaging Center
Julie Christianson, PhD  Program Co-Chair (Monthly Events & Programs) Assistant Professor, Anatomy and Cell Biology
Melissa Oropeza-Vail, RN, BSN, CGRN Recognition Co-Chair  Nurse Practitioner
Christina Pacheco, Esq., JD Recognition Co-Chair Research Assistant Professor, Family Medicine
Melissa Larson, PhD Mentoring Co-Chair Research Assistant Professor, Molecular and Integrative Physiology
Michele Pritchard, PhD Mentoring Co-Chair Assistant Professor, Pharmacology, Toxicology and Therapeutics 
Ex officio voting members
Robert Klein, PhD Office of Academic Affairs and Graduate Studies (OAA) Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs and Dean of Graduate Studies
Marty McLaughlin Office of Academic Affairs and Graduate Studies (OAA)  Executive Director
Alana Smith of Academic Affairs and Graduate Studies (OAA)  Executive Assistant to the Vice Chancellor for OAA
Lori Roop GME Representative Assistant Dean for Graduate Medical Education (GME)
Suzanne Dell-St. Clair, MS, CFRE Endowment Representative KU Endowment, Associate Development Director of Public Health and Family Medicine
Stefani Buchwitz Office of Student Engagement Coordinator of Student Life


Volunteer Administrative Support Team Personnel 

A very important part of our infrastructure is our team of volunteer support staff.  Learn more about what they do and who they are HERE

Last modified: Jul 06, 2015