Program Committees

The mission of WIMS two separate program committees is to plan all WIMS events and some of the programs recommended and sponsored by the University of Kansas Joy McCann Professor. "Events" included professional development programs, noon-time presentations, receptions, networking/mentoring or social gatherings and of course, the Bi-Annual WIMS Professional Development Conference which alternates with the Bi-Annual Retreat, and the Annual Awards Dinner. The WIMS Program Committee was the largest committee with the most time intense set of responsibilities and thus in the spring of 2014 was divided into separate committees based upon their projects.  They include:

  • Major Events Planning Committee (Annual Dinner and the Bi-Annual Retreat or Professional Development Conference)
  • Monthly Events & Programs
  • Annual Donation Drive

The two main program committee members and chairs determine when and how they meet but at a minimum, all meetings should be scheduled in August for the full year, on routine day and time each month.  Appointments for all meetings are to be sent by the OAA staff, including scheduling the rooms, sending the Outlook appointments and reminders, and posting all on the WIMS Calendar of Events.  Agendas and minutes are the responsibility of each committee chair.


Committee Members for Major Events (Alternating year Retreat and Conference, and the Annual Dinner):

WIMS annual events committee

  • Chair: Laura Martin, PhD, Assistant Professor, Preventive Medicine and Hoglund Brain Imaging Center
  • Co-Chair Elects:
  • Debra Sullivan, PhD, RD, Professor and Chair, Dietetics and Nutrition, School of Health Professions
  • Jyoti Paniker, MD, Associate Professor, Pediatric Hematology/Oncology
  • Kari Ziblut, CMP, Senior Coordinator for SON Special Events, WIMS Conference/Retreat Planning Support
  • Kelli Netson, PhD, APP Cn, Assistant Professor, Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences-Wichita
  • Suzanne Dell-St. Clair, MS, CFRE, KU Endowment, Associate Development Director, Public Health and Family Medicine
  • Tara Lin, MD, Assistant Professor, Hematology/Oncology

Committe Members for Monthly Events & Programs:

WIMS program committee

  • Chair: Julie Christianson, PhD, Assistant Professor, Anatomy and Cell Biology
    • Moms in Medicine & Science (MIMS) Sub-Committee - Chair Julie Christianson, PhD, Assistant Professor, Anatomy and Cell Biology
  • Chair Elect: Jessie Huisinga, PhD, Assistant Professor for the Human Performance Lab, Landon Center on Aging
  • Catherine (Katie) Siengsukon, PhD, Assistant Professor, Physical Therapy and REhabilitation Sciences Education
  • Christie Befort, PhD, Associate Professor, Co-Director for Breast Cancer Survivorship Center, Preventative Medicine and Public Health
  • Christina Hester, PhD, Research Professor, Assistant Residency Program Director for Research, Family Medicine
  • Erica Howe, MD, Assistant Professor, Internal Medicine, Doctors as Educators Program Director
  • Ellen Averett, PhD, MHSA, Research Assistant Professor, Health Policy and Management
  • Johana Bravo De Los Rios, PhD, Assistant Professor, Preventive Medicine and Public Health (WIMS Support for Event Flyers and Graph Projects)
  • Mary Zimmerman, PhD, Professor, Health Policy & Management, Joy McCann Professor
  • Melissa Larson, PhD, Research Assistant Professor, Technical Director, Transgenic and Gene-Targeting Institutional Facility, Molecular and Integrative Physiology
  • Michele Pritchard, PhD, Assistant Professor, Pharmacology, Toxicology and Therapeutics
  • Stefani Buchwitz, MS, Senior Coordinator of Student Life
  • Viktoriya Tulchinskaya, Student
  • Regina Esteban, Coordinator for Academic Affairs (WIMS Support for Events, Catering Orders and Room Reservations)

Committee Members for Silent Auction and Fundraising;

Due to the amount of time and energy it takes to plan and support the programs of both committees, the Donation Drive wsa established in 2013 as a sub-committee. Establishment of donor relationships and the professional experience required to run a drive, this group is chaired by an administrative support person who will remain the same from year to year (as long as she is willing) and is overseen by the Office of Academic Affairs (OAA) executive staff and the WIMS EC endowment representative. Members of the Donation Drive committee consists of trainees and other employees who volunteer their time to help each summer. Without this group, our donation drive would not be possible.  Members include:

  • Chair: Michelle Settle, Administrative Assistant, Orthopedic Research
  • Crystal Lumpkins, PhD, Assistant Professor, Family Medicine
  • Jessie Huisinga, PhD, Assistant Professor for the Human Performance Lab, Landon Center on Aging
  • Trainnees including graduate students and post-docs:
    • Aly Boyer
    • Amy Cantilena
    • Asona Lui
    • Carrie Malcom
    • Chris Mackay
    • Janelle Noel
    • Katy Norby
    • Kelly Michelle Settle
    • Kristen Erickson
    • Xi Wang
    • Yuan Li

 Updated: 8-18-2014

Last modified: Oct 02, 2014