The Robert Klein Trailblazer Award


The establishment of this award by WIMS is designed to recognize a male supporter for the ongoing advancement of women in medicine, nursing and health professions.

History:2014 Trailblazer Award presentation

Members of the 2013-14 Recognition Committee could not think of a better example to name the award after than Dr. Robert M. Klein.  Dr. Klein’s dedication to doing the right thing is behind his support of all things related to a fair and just professional work environment with equal opportunity for success and recognition for all.  His unending and tireless effort has been visibly noticeable during his 10 year term as Associate Dean for the Office of Professional Development & Faculty Affairs (PDFA) in the School of Medicine, and now as the Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs and Graduate Studies.  Dr. Klein was honored as the inaugural recipient of the Robert M Klein Trailblazer Award at the WIMS Annual Awards Dinner, August 21, 2014.


  • KUMC faculty or non-faculty member in basic science or clinical position, no specific academic title required
  • Must be in good standing with the KUMC organization


  • Supporting women-specific initiatives
  • Contributing to the success of work/life balance of women
  • Mentoring and promoting of mentor initiatives
  • Promoting  the recognition of women
  • Promoting the professional advancement of women
  • Creating and sustaining  the development of new opportunities for women
  • Promoting retention of women faculty
  • Maximizing  and  developing  leadership training opportunities for women


  • One award presented per year and announced at the Annual WIMS Dinner, scheduled for August 18, 2016.

Nomination Process:

  • Self-nomination or nomination by KUMC colleague
  • Submission of candidate nomination package in a single pdf document via e-mail to Debra Brogden, Executive Officer, Executive Vice Chancellor's Office, WIMS Recognition Administrative Support,
  • Complete award nomination form with candidate contact information
  • Letter from the nominator stating why the candidate is deserving; specifically addressing the criteria listed above, two pages maximum
  • Minimum one letter no more than three letters of reference/support; specifically addressing the applicable criteria listed above (minimum one letter from outside of specific department or school association). If self-nominating, preferably one letter of support would come from a female colleague.
  • Candidate’s updated full length Curriculum Vitae

Evaluation Process:

  • Recognition committee will review the nomination materials and will rank candidates
  • Recognition committee will report rankings to the WIMS Executive Team
  • All candidates will be notified of the decision prior to the annual WIMS dinner, when the award will be presented.

Award Recipients


Rick Kellerman, MD, Professor and Chair, Family and Community Medicine,University of Kansas School of Medicine-Wichita


Dale Abrahamson, PhD, University Distinguished Professor; Chair, Department of Anatomy and Cell Biology 

Stewart Babbott, MD, Division Director General and Geriatric Medicine; Professor, Department of Internal Medicine 


Robert M. Klein, PhD, Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs & Graduate Studies, Professor of Anatomy & Cell Biology 

Last modified: Oct 12, 2016