Marjorie S. Sirridge, MD Excellence in Medicine & Science Award

Marjorie Sirridge

"What was any art but a mold to imprison for a moment the shining elusive element which is life itself- life hurrying past us and running away, too strong to stop, too sweet to lose."?    Willa Cather.


Sponsorship for the award has been provided every year by Prestwood Financials, part of Voya Finacial, thanks to the support since 2007 of Wendy Prestwood, President and Founder.

2016 awardee

2016 Honoree: Susan E. Carlson, PhD

Professor, Dietetics & Nutrition
Professor, Institute for Reproductive Health & Regenerative Medicine 
University of Kansas Medical Center  

Susan E. Carlson, PhD, received a bachelor's degree in home economics at Washington State University in 1969 and her doctorate in nutrition, with minors in biochemistry and physiology, from Iowa State University in 1975. She completed NICHD postdoctoral fellowships at the University of Wisconsin and the University of South Florida. From 1979 to 1997, Dr. Carlson educated medical students throughout the country in pediatrics. She rose through the ranks to become professor at the University of Tennessee, Memphis, in the Departments of Pediatrics, Obstetrics and Gynecology and Biochemistry.

Dr. Carlson began teaching at KU Medical Center in 1999. Dr. Carlson has been active in large clinical trials studying infant DHA supplementation and DHA administered to women entering their second trimester of pregnancy. Since arriving at KU Medical Center, she has led several committees on campus, has mentored students and junior faculty, and has worked across all three schools to incorporate nutritional science into the curricula of each. She is the primary research mentor to over forty master's level female students and three PhD level students. She is the president of the International Society for the Study of Fatty Acids and Lipids, and she gives presentations and attends seminars all over the world.


Dr. Marjorie Spurrier Sirridge (1922 -2014)  is a distinguished KU School of Medicine alumnus, who graduated first in her medical class in 1944. She specialized in Internal Medicine-Hematology and was subsequently active in teaching and administration at the University of Missouri-Kansas City School of Medicine, where she was one of the founding faculty members. She helped develop the docent system and later became Dean. She was an active mentor and role model for men and women. In addition to her many accomplishments, Dr. Sirridge placed a high value on family life and believed women could achieve great things without sacrificing their personal or family life. More details of Dr. Sirridge's career are available on the National Library of Medicine's Changing the face of Medicine exhibition.

At the WIMS Annual Dinner on August 18, 2011, Dr. Sirridge was presented with a crystal bowl to commemorate the award in her honor. Drs. Brenda Rongish and Julie Wei made the presentation. The inscription reads, "The Marjorie S. Sirridge, MD Excellence in Medicine and Science Award was established in 2011 by the University of Kansas School of Medicine Women in Medicine and Science Organization, in order to honor and recognize Dr. Sirridge's extraordinary leadership, vision, and years spent serving as a role model and mentor for faculty and students."

Call for nominations

Submission deadline: April 29, 2016, 5 p.m.


To acknowledge the contributions and accomplishments of women faculty in the KU School of Medicine, School of Nursing and the School of Health Professions. The Women in Medicine and Science (WIMS) organization honors Dr. Sirridge each year by presenting this award to deserving women who manifest Dr. Sirridge's ideals. The award was established March 15, 2011.


The University of Kansas WIMS Organization would like to acknowledge and thank Wendy Prestwood and her team at Prestwood Financial Group, VOYA Financial Advisers, LLC for the monetary support they provide for this award.


Female faculty member in the KU School of Medicine, School of Nursing, or School of Health Professions


  • Success as a mentor and role model for women faculty, trainees and students
  • Professional excellence in clinical and/or basic sciences
  • Leadership at the university and/or national level
  • Involvement in WIMS programs and initiatives         


  • Up to two awards presented per year
  • Amount: $1,500 (for personal use and/or professional development)
  • AWARD SPONSOR: Prestwood Financial Group, ING Financial Advisers, LLC  and KU Women in Medicine and Science (WIMS) organization

Nomination process

Self nomination or nomination by KUMC colleague 

  • Submission of candidate nomination package in a single pdf document via e-mail to Debra Brogden, WIMS Recognition Admn Support and Exeuctive Officer, Executive Vice Chancellor's Office    
    • Complete Award Nomination Form with candidate contact information
    • Letter from the nominator stating why the candidate is deserving; specifically addressing the criteria listed above, 2 pages maximum.
    • 3 letters of reference; specifically addressing applicable criteria listed above (minimum of 1 letter from outside of KU School of Medicine, preferably external to KUMC)        
    • Candidate's updated full-length CV

Evaluation process

  • Recognition committee will review the nomination materials and will rank candidates
  • Recognition committee will report rankings to the WIMS Executive Committee
  • All candidates will be notified of the decision prior to the annual WIMS dinner, when the awards are presented.

Nomination Timeline

  • Early June - Call for Nominations
  • Early July - Candidates are notified and the honoree is announced.
  • August Annual WIMS Awards Dinner - the honoree is formally recognized.

Award presentation

The award winner(s) will be guests at the annual WIMS fall dinner to receive their award.

Award Recipients

2015  Lauren Aaronson RN, PhD, Professor, School of Nursing; Deputy Director Frontiers: The Heartland Institute for Clinical and Translational Research
2014  Lisa Stehno-Bittel, PT, PhD, Professor and Chair of the department of Physical Therapy and Rehabilitation Sciences, School of Health Professions
2013 Karen L. Miller, RN, PhD, FAAN, Senior Vice Chancellor for Academic and Student Affairs and Dean, Schools of Nursing and Health Professions
2012 Kim Templeton, M.D., Orthopedic Surgery
Beth Levant, Ph.D., Pharmacology, Toxicology, and Therapeutics.
2011 Susan K. Pingleton, MD, FACP, Master Fellow, ACCP, Internal Medicine
Dianne Durham, PhD, Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery

Last modified: Oct 11, 2016