Our colleagues are making great strides in their careers and we want to recognize their achievements here. Help us give kudos to our members when someone receives an award, gets recognized or does something outstanding in her career. Email all kudos to wims@kumc.edu. Congratulations to all of our exceptional members! 

MARCH 2017

​Kimber Richter, Ph.D., professor of preventive medicine and public health, will receive a 2017 University Scholarly Achievement Award, which recognizes significant scholarly or research achievement for scholars in the middle of their careers. Read more.

Amy O'Brien-Ladner, M.D., professor, and interim chair of the Department of Medicine, has been  selected to serve as Councilor for the Association of Subspecialty Professors  (ASP) within the Alliance for Academic Internal Medicine until 2020.


As part of the 2017 Black History Month celebration, the KU Medical Center is highlighting faculty profiles. Read more about the careers and lives of the women featured...


​Kellyann Jones-Jamtgaard, graduate student in Microbiology, Molecular Genetics and Immunology, has been named a recipient of the Christine Mirzayan Science and Technology Policy Graduate Fellowship Program. She will be working for the Committee on Women in Science, Engineering and Medicine. Kellyann's mentor is Steven Weinman, M.D., Ph.D., professor of gastroenterology and hepatology.

Sandra Billinger, Ph.D., PT, associate professor of physical therapy and rehabilitation sciences, has been named the 2016 Stroke Council Award Lecturer by the American Heart Association's Stroke Council. This award acknowledges her work to integrate stroke and heart disease in clinical care, education and research. The award will be presented at the American Heart Association's Scientific Sessions Annual Conference in November.


The American Heart Association's Stroke Council named Sandra Billinger, Ph.D., PT, FAHA, as the 2016 Stroke Council Award Lecturer. This award acknowledges her work to integrate stroke and heart disease in clinical care, education, and research. The award will be presented at the American Heart Association's Scientific Sessions Annual Conference in November.

Jill Hamilton-Reeves, PhD, RD, CSO
, Susanna Patton, PhD, ​Brenda Rongish, PhD, and Anne Arthur, APRN all received 2016 KU Faculty Research Investigator Awards during the KU Medical Center's Faculty Research Day on October 28. The award honors significant accomplishments as evidenced by a substantial, externally funded, and actively published research program.


Kim Richter, PhD, MPH, Professor in Preventive Medicine and Public Health, has been named the 2016-2019 Joy McCann Professor for KUMC.  The Joy McCann Professorship is awarded every three years to an accomplished woman faculty member who has demonstrated outstanding leadership and mentoring while encouraging, inspiring and rewarding other women faculty in their academic careers.  In this role Dr. Richter will serve as a member of the Women in Medicine and Science (WIMS) Executive Council and develop programs in collaboration with WIMS.  Dr. Richter is the successor to Dr. Mary Zimmerman who served from 2013 to 2016.  Dr. Richter will serve as one of only four McCann Professors in the United States.  Over the next three years, Dr. Richter will focus on strategies to assess the status and advance the careers of women faculty at KU School of Medicine. 

Kim Templeton, MD, who was awarded the 2003-2006 Joy McCann Professorship and served as KU WIMS president in 2013, has been named 2016-2017 president of the American Medical Women's Association (AMWA) Board of Directors Executive Committee.  AMWA is a national advocacy group dedicated to supporting the advancement of women in medicine and improving women's health.  

Two of our first year medical students were among 23 women honored at a reception Tuesday as KU Women of Distinction, each recognized in a distinguished service category:  Hebron Kelecha, Science Humanitarians,  and Lauren Arney, Women Building Communities.  Each year, the Emily Taylor Center for Women and Gender Equity produces poster-sized calendars honoring the outstanding achievements of selected KU women students, faculty, staff, and alumnae. 

The School of Medicine is pleased to announce that Jana Zaudke, M.D., M.A. is the Director of Honors and Enrichment for the Kansas City campus. Dr. Zaudke is an Assistant Dean for Student Affairs and Director of the Major Society and an Associate Professor in the Department of Family Medicine.

Research led by investigators, Francesca Duncan, PhD and Michele Pritchard, PhD, shows that women may be losing their ability to produce healthy eggs later in life due to excessive scarring and inflammation in their ovaries. The study in mice was published this month in Reproduction. These findings could pave the way for new treatments that delay ovarian aging. Duncan is currently the executive director of the Center for Reproductive Science at the Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine. Duncan led this study while she was an assistant professor in the Department of Anatomy and Cell Biology at KU Medical Center. She collaborated with Pritchard, who is an assistant professor in the Department of Pharmacology, Toxicology and Therapeutics at KU Medical Center. Pritchard's research focuses on understanding mechanisms behind abnormal wound healing in the liver leading to fibrosis.   


Congratulations to three of our members who received the Chancellor's Distinguished Teaching Awards. "These awards recognize our faculty's contributions to our students and to our university through outstanding teaching," said Chancellor Bernadette Gray-Little. "These educators have earned the respect of their peers and their students, and they contribute to a key component of our mission at KU, which is to educate leaders." Read more

  • Sandra Billinger, associate professor of physical therapy and rehabilitation science
  • Elaine Domian, clinical associate professor of nursing
  • Erica Howe, assistant professor of internal medicine

Jessie Huisinga, Ph.D, and her lab team were featured in a recent article about how they are utilizing specialized high-tech gadgetry with the techniques of filmmakers and animation studios while they aim to unravel the mysteries neuromuscular diseases.

JUNE 2016

Congratulations to Nelda Godfrey, Ph.D.  who has been named associate dean for innovative partnerships and practice, a new position that will identify and facilitate partnership development and create sustainable program growth for the School of Nursing. In her new role, Dr. Godfrey will also oversee faculty practice and the shared curriculum partnership program.  

Congratulations to Cynthia Teel, Ph.D.  who has been named associate dean for academic affairs, bringing together undergraduate and graduate academic affairs operations. This combined role will enhance opportunities for graduate and undergraduate faculty to work, learn and research collaboratively, potentially resulting in innovative teaching and learning strategies, new programs and educational research.

Last modified: Apr 04, 2017
WIMS logo