Betty M. Drees Distinguished Alumni Award


Betty Drees

Betty Drees, MD Distinguished Alumni Award
Health Professions - Medicine - Nursing

The Betty M. Drees, MD Distinguished Alumni Award's purpose is to acknowledge men and women who represent the best of our alumni from The University of Kansas, with priority given to alumni from the Schools of Medicine, Nursing and Health Professions whose efforts reflect a lifelong achievement of supporting a legacy of influential women. 

The candidate must exhibit evidence of:

  • Professional excellence in the individual's career
  • Recognition as a leader locally, nationally or internationally
  • Involvement in programs and initiatives related to the support of the careers of women
  • Effort to influence or institute a positive cultural change regarding the careers of women  

All alumni from The University of Kansas (on all campuses) who completed their academic training at least 10 years prior to being nominated for this award. 

To self-nominate or to nominate a well deserving colleague or health care professional, please return the following required information:

  • Completed nomination form
  • Nominee's current curriculum vitae
  • Two letters of recommendation - recommendation letters are essential to the selection process (the most effective letters will address each criteria listed above) 

NOTE:  Incomplete nominations will not be considered by the WIMS Recognition Committee.  

Submit all awards materials to:

The inaugural Betty M. Drees Distinguished Alumni Award was presented as a surprise at the Annual WIMS Dinner, August 21, 2014. in honor of  Betty M. Drees, M.D., F.A.C.P., who after 12 years as dean of the UMKC School of Medicine, retired from the dean's position in the fall of 2014. Since graduating from the University of Kansas School of Medicine in 1984, alumna Betty Drees has devoted herself to providing quality health care, research, dedication to academic medicine, and training others. Drees' leadership has provided tremendous benefit for students, their families and their patients as they become physicians, said UMKC Provost Gail Hackett. UMKC School of Medicine's accomplishments during Drees' deanship have included fiscal strength, collaboration, student success, new education programs, and research.

The women of WIMS express their gratitude to Dr. Drees for her continued involvement and support of our members, our leaders and the mission of our organization and her lifelong achievement of supporting a legacy of influential women.

Last modified: Mar 28, 2017
WIMS logo