Current Residents


 closeup of doctor

                                                                        

Class of 2018

Jennifer Lu
                 
Jennifer Lu jlu3@kumc.edu 
  Undergrad: Brigham Young University - Microbiology
  Medical School: Midwestern University in Phoenix, Arizona
  Interests: piano, violin, off-roading, horseback riding, traveling, spending time with my husband & Siberian husky
Duke Pfitzinger
Duke Pfitzinger  dpfitzinger@kumc.edu 
  Undergrad: University of Kansas; Southern Illinois University; Physiology
  Medical School: Chicago College of Osteopathic Medicine of Midwestern University
  Interests: Spending time with my wife and dog, spending time outdoors, sports
Eric Shurtleff
Eric Shurtleff eshurtleff@kumc.edu 
  Undergrad: Clark University - Psychology; University of Colorado - Pre-Med
  Medical School: Kansas City University of Medicine and Biosciences
  Interests: Spending time with my wife, woodworking, snowboarding and road trips backs to Colorado
Jonathan Warren
 Jonathan Warren  jwarren@kumc.edu 
  Undergrad: Cowley County Community College; Pensacola Christian College - Pre- Med
  Medical School: University of Kansas School of Medicine
  Interests: Guitar, soccer, fishing/hunting, medical missions

Class of 2019

  resident photo of Kara Hessell
 
Kara Hessel khessel@kumc.edu
  Undergrad: Iowa State University
  Medical School: Kansas City University of Biosciences College of Osteopathic Medicine
  Interests: Running, cooking/baking, painting, reading, and spending time with my family, friends, and fiancé  
Lyndsey Kilgore Lyndsey Kilgore lkilgore@kumc.edu
   Undergrad: University of Kansas
   Medical School: University of Kansas Medical Center
   Interests:  KU Sports, traveling, and spending time with my husband, family, and friends

Matt Richey
Matthew Richey mrichey2@kumc.edu
 
Undergrad: Notre Dame de Namur & Boston University School of Medicine
  Medical School: Creighton University School of Medicine
  Interests: Running, biking, spending time with family, and occasionally visiting the ocean
Ryan Randi Randi Ryan rryan2@kumc.edu
  Undergrad:  University of Iowa
  Medical School: University of Iowa Roy J and Lucille A Carver College of Medicine
  Interests: Running, piano, reading, watching soccer, volunteering at animal shelter
Erich Wessell Erich Wessel ewessel@kumc.edu
  Undergrad: Bellevue Community College & Central Washington University
  Medical School: Kansas City University of Biosciences College of Osteopathic Medicine
  Interests: Playing guitar, watching the Royals, biking, and spending time with my fiancée 

Class of 2020  

Dekonenko
Charlene Dekonenko cdekonenko@kumc.edu
  Undergrad: St. Mary's University, San Antonio, Texas - Biology
  Medical School: University of New Mexico
  Interests: Cooking, spending time with my husband and son, traveling, and the San Antonio Spurs-GSG!

Sam Hong shong2@kumc.edu
  Undergrad: Tulane University - Neuroscience
  Medical School: University of Alabama
  Interests: Grilling/cooking, reading, road trips, movies, television, theater, and church-related activities
Clay King Clay King cking@kumc.edu
  Undergrad: Kansas State University
  Medical School: University of Kansas
  Interests: K-State Athletics, slow-pitch softball, hunting (particularly waterfowl), and gardening
Tyler Mouw Tyler Mouw tmouw@kumc.edu
  Undergrad: David Lipscomp University, Nashville, Tennessee & University of Iowa - Chemistry
  Medical School: University of Iowa
  Interests: Playing guitar, working on car/motorcycle, and fishing
Leigh Robinson Leigh Robinson lrobinson8@kumc.edu
  Undergrad: Tulane University
  Medical School: Tulane University School of Medicine
  Interests: Traveling, cooking, and water skiing

Class of 2021  

Baral
 Perel Baral pbaral@kumc.edu
   Undergrad: Northeastern Illinois University, Chicago, IL
   Medical School: Chicago College of Osteopathic Medicine of Midwestern University
   Interests: Sewing and fashion design, learning languages, cooking, and soccer
Hangge Amanda Hangge ahangge2@kumc.edu 
  Undergrad: Western Washington University, Bellingham, WA
  Medical School: Kansas City University of Medicine and Biosciences
  Interests: Attending theater performances, pinochle, and fishing.
Ryan O'Dell Ryan O'Dell rodell3@kumc.edu 
  Undergrad: Colorado State University
  Medical School: Kansas City University of Medicine and Biosciences
  Interests: Spending time with wife, son & dog, sports (Denver Broncos), golfing, biking, camping, mountaineering Colorado's 14,000 ft peaks
Shinal Patel Shinal Patel spatel17@kumc.edu 
  Undergrad: Loyola University of Chicago
  Medical School: Saint Louis University School of Medicine
  Interests: Intramural & pick up soccer games, swimming, snowboarding, watching sports, and listening to music
Sumaiya Sarwar Sumaiya Sarwar ssarwar@kumc.edu 
  Undergrad: University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, North Carolina
  Medical School: University of Kansas School of Medicine
  Interests: Running, geocaching, reading, cooking, baking, and making homemade ice cream

Class of 2022



 Craig Follette cfollette@kumc.edu    
   Undergrad: Northwestern College
   Medical School: Des Moines University College of Osteopathic Medicine
   Interests: Comic books, running, lifting and spending time with my family
Jennifer Legino jlegino@kumc.edu 
  Undergrad: Kansas State University
  Medical School: University of Kansas School of Medicine
  Interests: Spending time with family and friends, trying new recipes, traveling, movies, stray and injured animals
Sakshi Dhar smathur@kumc.edu   
  
Undergrad: Saint Louis University
  Medical School: University of Missouri-Columbia School of Medicine
  Interests: Cooking, Singing, Hip hop-style dancing, Bharatanatyam, reading and traveling

Mrinalini Patil mpatil@kumc.edu   
  
Undergrad: Oklahoma State University
  Medical School: University of Oklahoma College of Medicine
  Interests: dancing, music, sketching and drawing
Lauren Turco lturco@kumc.edu 
 
 
Undergrad: Creighton University
  Medical School: Creighton University School of Medicine
  
Interests: Woodworking/building and restoring furniture, pastry/cake decorating, sewing, graphic arts and design

 

Last modified: Aug 17, 2017
ID=x11950