Current Residents


 closeup of doctor

                                                                        

Class 2017

Scott Turner

  Scott Turner sturner6@kumc.edu
  Undergrad: Creighton University - Biology
  Medical School: Creighton University
  Interests: Travel, music, outdoor activities. He hopes to someday climb Mount Everest.

 

Antonio Lozada  Antonio Lozada alozada@kumc.edu
  Undergrad: Southern Illinois University - Carbondale. Chemistry and Physiology.
  Medical School: Saint Louis University
  Interests: Football & spending time with his wife Summer and his two sons.

 

Chris Koo  Chris Koo ckoo@kumc.edu
  Undergrad: University of Hawaii - Biology
  Medical School: University of Hawaii
  Interests: Sports, his family, poker, barbecuing, going to the beach, eating SPAM, movies starring the Rock.

 

Trey Perry  Alvin (Trey) P. Perry, III tperry3@kumc.edu
  Undergrad: Millsaps College - Psychology
  Medical School: LSU - New Orleans
  Interests: Spending time with my wife and two dogs, cooking, sharing long meals with family and friends, traveling, and college football, especially LSU - Geaux Tigers!

Class of 2018

Jennifer Lu  Jennifer Lu jlu3@kumc.edu
  Undergrad: Brigham Young University - Microbiology
  Medical School: Midwestern University in Phoenix, Arizona
  Interests: piano, violin, off-roading, horseback riding, traveling, spending time with my husband & Siberian husky

 

Duke Pfitzinger  Duke Pfitzinger  dpfitzinger@kumc.edu
  Undergrad: University of Kansas; Southern Illinois University; Physiology
  Medical School: Chicago College of Osteopathic Medicine of Midwestern University
  Interests: Spending time with my wife and dog, spending time outdoors, sports

 

Casey Shelley  Casey Shelley cshelley@kumc.edu
  Undergrad: University of Oklahoma - Zoology and Spanish
  Medical School: Kansas City University of Medicine and Biosciences
  Interests: OU Football, traveling, the lake, Stevie Nicks (singer & my cat), spending time with friends & family, live music, good wine

  

Eric Shurtleff  Eric Shurtleff eshurtleff@kumc.edu
  Undergrad: Clark University - Psychology; University of Colorado - Pre-Med
  Medical School: Kansas City University of Medicine and Biosciences
  Interests: Spending time with my wife, woodworking, snowboarding and road trips backs to Colorado

 

Jonathan Warren  Jonathan Warren  jwarren@kumc.edu
  Undergrad: Cowley County Community College; Pensacola Christian College - Pre- Med
  Medical School: University of Kansas School of Medicine
  Interests: Guitar, soccer, fishing/hunting, medical missions

 

Class of 2019

resident photo of Kara Hessell  Kara Hessel khessel@kumc.edu
  Undergrad: Iowa State University
  Medical School: Kansas City University of Biosciences College of Osteopathic Medicine
  Interests: Running, cooking/baking, painting, reading, and spending time with my family, friends, and fiancé

Lyndsey Kilgore    Lyndsey Kilgore lkilgore@kumc.edu
   Undergrad: University of Kansas
   Medical School: University of Kansas Medical Center
   Interests:  KU Sports, traveling, and spending time with my husband, family, and friends

Matt Richey

  Matthew Richey mrichey2@kumc.edu
  Undergrad: Notre Dame de Namur & Boston University School of Medicine
  Medical School: Creighton University School of Medicine
  Interests: Running, biking, spending time with family, and occasionally visiting the ocean

Ryan Randi

  Randi Ryan rryan2@kumc.edu
  Undergrad:  University of Iowa
  Medical School: University of Iowa Roy J and Lucille A Carver College of Medicine
  Interests: Running, piano, reading, watching soccer, volunteering at animal shelter

Erich Wessell

  Erich Wessel ewessel@kumc.edu
  Undergrad: Bellevue Community College & Central Washington University
  Medical School: Kansas City University of Biosciences College of Osteopathic Medicine
  Interests: Playing guitar, watching the Royals, biking, and spending time with my fiancée

Class of 2020 

Dekonenko  Charlene Dekonenko cdekonenko@kumc.edu

  Undergrad: St. Mary's University, San Antonio, Texas - Biology
  Medical School: University of New Mexico
  Interests: Cooking, spending time with my husband and son, traveling, and the San Antonio Spurs-GSG!

  Sam Hong shong2@kumc.edu

  Undergrad: Tulane University - Neuroscience
  Medical School: University of Alabama
  Interests: Grilling/cooking, reading, road trips, movies, television, theater, and church-related activities

Clay King

  Clay King cking@kumc.edu

  Undergrad: Kansas State University
  Medical School: University of Kansas
  Interests: K-State Athletics, slow-pitch softball, hunting (particularly waterfowl), and gardening

Tyler Mouw

  Tyler Mouw tmouw@kumc.edu

  Undergrad: David Lipscomp University, Nashville, Tennessee & University of Iowa - Chemistry
  Medical School: University of Iowa
  Interests: Playing guitar, working on car/motorcycle, and fishing

Leigh Robinson  Leigh Robinson lrobinson8@kumc.edu

  Undergrad: Tulane University
  Medical School: Tulane University School of Medicine
  Interests: Traveling, cooking, and water skiing

Class of 2021  
  

Baral  Perel Baral pbaral@kumc.edu

 Undergrad: Northeastern Illinois University, Chicago, IL
 Medical School: Chicago College of Osteopathic Medicine of Midwestern University
 Interests: Sewing and fashion design, learning languages, cooking, and soccer

Hangge

  Amanda Hangge ahangge2@kumc.edu 

  Undergrad: Western Washington University, Bellingham, WA
  Medical School: Kansas City University of Medicine and Biosciences
  Interests: Attending theater performances, pinochle, and fishing.

Ryan O'Dell  Ryan O'Dell rodell3@kumc.edu 

  Undergrad: Colorado State University
  Medical School: Kansas City University of Medicine and Biosciences
  Interests: Spending time with wife, son & dog, sports (Denver Broncos), golfing, mountain biking, camping, mountaineering Colorado's 14,000 ft peaks

Shinal Patel  Shinal Patel spatel17@kumc.edu 

  Undergrad: Loyola University of Chicago
  Medical School: Saint Louis University School of Medicine
  Interests: Intramural & pick up soccer games, swimming, snowboarding, watching sports, and listening to music

Sumaiya Sarwar  Sumaiya Sarwar ssarwar@kumc.edu 

  Undergrad: University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, North Carolina
  Medical School: University of Kansas School of Medicine
  Interests: Running, geocaching, reading, cooking, baking, and making homemade ice cream

Last modified: Aug 05, 2016
ID=x11950