The School of Medicine Executive Dean's Mentoring Awards

Each year at the School of Medicine Faculty Retreat, the Executive Dean presents five prestigious awards to faculty members who demonstrate an exceptional commitment to mentoring the School's junior faculty, residents and post-doctoral students. Nominated by their colleagues and learners, the Distinguished Mentoring Awards are given to deserving individuals who recognize the vital role that mentoring plays in developing the next generation of medical educators. 

The Distinguished Mentoring Awards

One faculty member will be chosen for each of the five awards available. Follow the link of the award best suited for your nominee in order to review the criteria and what to include in the nomination packet.

Lifetime Achievement in Mentoring Award - "The Jayhawk"
For SOM professors with 20+ years on our faculty.

Excellence in Mentoring Award
For SOM professors or associate professors with a minimum of five years on our faculty.  

Honorary Mentoring Award
For non-SOM faculty members who have mentored one or more junior faculty members in the School of Medicine for two years or more. These individuals can be faculty members in other KUMC schools, universities, or even professional members of the community.  

Achievement Award for Mentoring Residents
For assistant, associate or full professors with three or more years at KU SOM.  

Achievement Award for Mentoring Post-docs
For assistant, associate or full professors with three or more years at KU SOM.

The deadline for nomination packets is Friday, July 14, 2017 by 5:00 pm.

The Awards will be presented on Friday, August 11, 2017 at the SOM Annual Faculty Retreat. 

The honorees will receive:

  • Recognition on the Distinguished Mentor Wall in the School of Medicine
  • Recognition at the 2017 Annual Faculty Retreat
  • A trophy signifying the honoree as a Distinguished Mentor
  • A $1,500 financial award to be used at the discretion of the Honoree

Last modified: Apr 27, 2017
KU School of Medicine mentoring program jayhawks
School of Medicine Faculty Mentoring Awards

The 2017 Distinguished Mentoring Awards will be presented at the School of Medicine Annual Faculty Retreat on August 11, 2017.