Skip to main content

KU School of Medicine Faculty Mentoring

School of Medicine > SoM Faculty Affairs and Development (FAD) > Departmental Mentoring Programs

Departmental Mentoring Programs

Ambassadors provide an orientation for their new faculty and help with basic office information, facility tours, and introductions.

(linked if a department has its own onboarding documentation)
Faculty Development Director 
Anatomy and Cell Biology David Plucknett Contact Department Chair
Anesthesiology Sheila Bailey Kirk T. Benson, MD
Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Wendy Baker Contact Department Chair
Biostatistics Laura Dugas Byron Gajewski, PhD
Cancer Biology Darcy Groce Danny Welch, PhD
Emergency Medicine Diane Casey Contact Department Chair
Family Medicine Sande Mustain Joshua Freeman, MD
Health Policy and Management John Custer Contact Department Chair 
History and Philosophy of Medicine Julie Stark Contact Department Chair
Internal Medicine Ambassadors by division Susan K. Pingleton, MD. FACP,
Master FCCP
Microbiology, Molecular Genetics and Immunology Elizabeth Jenkins Contact Department Chair 
Molecular and Integrative Physiology Shari Standiferd Contact Department Chair
Neurology Paula Mengel Russell H Swerdlow, MD
Neurosurgery Sherry Porter Contact Department Chair 
Obstetrics and Gynecology Judy Grant Contact Department Chair 
Ophthalmology Abby Strickland Contact Department Chair 
Orthopedic Surgery Jan Brunks Contact Department Chair 
Otolaryngology and Head and Neck Surgery Mallori Hartke Contact Department Chair 
Pathology and Laboratory Medicine Basic science faculty: Susan Ard
Clinical faculty: Teal Kilbride
Diane Persons, MD
Pediatrics Lisa Matthew Michael Rapoff, Ph.D.
Pharmacology, Toxicology and Therapeutics Cody Tully Xiaobo Zhong, Ph.D.
Plastic Surgery Jenny Hascall Contact Department Chair 
Preventive Medicine and Public Health Joanne McNair Contact Department Chair 
Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences Tina Conchola William F. Gabrielli, Jr., M.D., Ph.D.
Radiation Oncology Elwanda Richardson Contact Department Chair 
Radiology Mary Monroe Contact Department Chair
Rehabilitation Medicine Raymond Franklin Contact Department Chair 
Surgery Laurie Wood Contact Department Chair
Urological Surgery
Jessica McCullough J. Brantley Thrasher, M.D., F.A.C.S.


Centers, Programs or Grant-Based Mentoring Sites

Office of Scholarly, Academic & Research Mentoring (OSARM)

  • Purpose: To facilitate scholarly and academic growth among junior faculty members in the Department of Medicine
  • Support Contact: Genny Gochenour

Frontiers Mentoring Program

  • Purpose: Frontiers: The Heartland Institute for Clinical and Translational Research is part of the Clinical and Translational Science Awards (CTSA) consortium, a national group of medical research institutions funded by NIH.
  • Director: Contact one of the deputy directors for Frontiers
  • Website:

Cancer Center Mentoring Program

  • Contact: William Jewell, M.D., Associate Director for Education, The University of Kansas Cancer Center

COBRE Projects — Core Mentoring Programs

  • Purpose: Four core research projects funded by NIH grants from the NCRR: P20RR024214
  • Contact: see the list based on each Core

Women in Medicine & Science (WIMS) Mentoring Program

  • Purpose: Enhance and support, not replace or duplicate, the School of Medicine's department based faculty mentoring programs listed above
  • Chair, WIMS Mentoring Committee: Melissa Larson, Ph.D., Research Assistant Professor, Molecular and Integrative Physiology
  • WIMS Mentoring Committee

Academic Societies

  • Purpose: Faculty members participate as advisers/mentors on a voluntary basis and are assigned one or two students from each class. Matriculating medical students are introduced to their faculty mentor during society events during orientation.
  • Chair: See the Academic Society list
  • Support Contact: Annette Kramer, 913-588-5287, or Sarah Schlachter, 913-588-5261

Last modified: Sep 28, 2018