Skip to main content

News and Events

MHSA Faculty Member Elected to National Board

The Association for Health Care Resource & Materials Management membership elected Brian Dolan, DMRP, MHSA, MHSA program faculty and senior director of supply chain at The University of Kansas Health System as one of two provider representatives on the 2020 board. As a provider representative, Dolan will work to advance the strategic value of the supply chain in health care organizations. Dolan has been a AHRMM member since 2016.

Ellis Selected as Visiting Scholar

MHSA and PhD program faculty member Dr. Shellie Ellis was selected as the 2020 AcademyHealth/National Cancer Institute Visiting Scholar for Healthcare Delivery Research. During her term, she will work with colleagues at the National Cancer Institute to conduct research on rural oncology practices' participation in research and, via the national platform provided by AcademyHealth, the pre-eminent Health Services Research professional society, will convey a national agenda for expanding rural participation in cancer care delivery research.

MHSA Faculty Member Becomes Peer Review Editor

Faculty member Richelle Marting has been asked to serve as the Kansas and Missouri Peer Review Editor for the American Health Lawyers Association Physicians Organizations Practice Group 30 State Opiod Prescribing Law Survey.

New Department

Dr. Robert Simari, Executive Dean of the School of Medicine, announced the merger of the Department of Health Policy and Management and the Department of Preventive Medicine and Public Health. They formed a new Department of Population Health, effective July 1, 2019. All existing academic programs remain the same. Visit the new departmental website here:

MHSA Program Graduates; Graduation Awards Announced

The MHSA Program celebrated 3 new PhD and 22 new MHSA graduates at its May 11th Hooding Ceremony. Among the graduates were 2 Joint MS Nursing/MHSA and 2 Joint BSHIM/MHSA students. Congratulations to the following new MHSA graduates receiving awards at this year's Graduation Reception:
Health Care Executive of the Future Award: Ariel Shifter
Professional Development Award: Emily Santiago
May 2019

JHAWK Annual Awards

The MHSA Student Organization, Jayhawk Healthcare Administrators Working for Kansas (JHAWK), announced their annual awards at the Graduation Reception:
JHAWK Outstanding Faculty Member: Dr. Jarron Saint Onge
JHAWK Outstanding Student: Emily Santiago
May 2019

Scholarship Awards Announced

The MHSA Program awarded the following scholarships to continuing students:
Ray Davis Scholarship: Alex Lemcke
Jerry Slaughter Scholarship: Taylor Zabel
Avis G. McPike Scholarship: Navneet Kaur, Claire Poague, Miranda Steele, Alex Lemcke

Health Policy Symposium

The department of Health Policy and Management hosted its first Health Policy Symposium on Tuesday, April 23, 2019 entitled "Opportunities in Healthcare and Health Policy for Underserved Populations."

Partially sponsored by the Peter T. Bohan Visiting Lecturer Fund, the symposium's keynote speaker was Alonzo Plough, PhD, MPH, Vice President for Research Evaluation Learning and Chief Science Officer at the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation. The symposium featured three targeted sessions, bringing toether policy and healthcare experts from across the State of Kansas and national panelists to discuss disabilities and mental health, cultural humility, and rural medicine.

New Publication for Faculty Member

MHSA instructor Richelle Marting's article, Protecting Adolescent Patient Privacy: Four Key Questions, was published in the American Academy of Family Physicians Family Practice Management Journal, January 2019.

JHAWK Announces New Officers

The following MHSA students have been elected as officers for the 2019 year:
President: Alexander Lemcke
Vice-President: Logan Decker
Treasurer: Jesse Lyle
Information Officer: Larkin Bailey
Outreach Officer: Dayna Richards
Liaison Officer: Mary-Kate Shelton
Planning Officer: Kaitlyn Wolken

MHSA Alumnus Chosen for Campus Award

MHSA (2007) Alumnus Nico Tejeda was chosen by the School of Medicine Alumni Association to receive its 2018 Outstanding Early Careerist Award. Tejeda is currently the Group CEO of The Hospitals of Providence in Texas.

Don C. Black Future of Healthcare Lecture

The Don C. Black Future of Healthcare Lecture Series was held during alumni weekend, and we were pleased to welcome back Nicholas Tejeda, MHSA Class of 2007, FACHE and Market CEO at The Hospitals of Providence. Nico was awarded the KUMC Alumni Early Career Achievement award at the campus-wide alumni awards luncheon. His talk, "Sustainable Partnerships: The Basis of Healthcare Transformation", was attended by alumni, current students and faculty.

New Kansas Secretary of Health and Environment from KU Health System

Congratulations to Dr. Lee Norman, state surgeon of Kansas, former chief medical officer of The University of Kansas Health System, who has been named interim secretary of the Kansas Department of Health and Environment by Governer Laura Kelly. Dr. Norman is an active member of the MHSA External Advisory Board and has remained a continuous contributor to the program.

Administrative Fellows Announced

Congratulations to the following 2019 MHSA graduates who will be going on to fellowships this June:
Pooneh Nazaran, UT Southwestern
Halle Ponick, KU Health System
Emily Santiago, UT Southwestern
Ariel Shifter, Children's Hospital Colorado

Williams Elected Chair of American Public Health Association

HP&M faculty member Dr. Jessica Williams was elected chair of the Medical Care Section of the American Public Health Association (APHA) effective November 2018. As chair, Dr. Williams will seek connections between medical care and public health.  December 2018

Last modified: Sep 05, 2019