About Us Overview

What a remarkable year we have witnessed in the Department of Otolaryngology at the University of Kansas Medical Center! We continue to be blessed with outstanding students, residents and fellows who are the future of medicine. Our patient-care results at the University of Kansas Hospital have again placed us in the top 50 departments in the United States, as reported by U.S. News & World Report. We undertook two major initiatives in 2011. First, the Otolaryngology clinic was in the first wave of departments at KUMC to implement the new Electronic Health Record (O2) in April. This record ties directly to the hospital record, the laboratory and radiology record and, ultimately, all the clinics affiliated with Kansas University. Second, in July the Otolaryngology clinic moved into the new Physicians Medical Office Building. This new, 220,000-square-foot, state-of-the-art, "green" building is now home to nearly all outpatient clinics at KUMC. Complete with a new parking garage, the office building provides a more ideal patient experience than ever before.

Douglas Girod, MD
Chair and Professor

Advancement Board

On February 25, 2009 the creation of an advancement board for the Department of Otolaryngology came to fruition. The Charter members included alumni Dr. Oscar Pinsker and Dr. Mike Franklin, Julie Veatch, Steve Patton, Jari Buck, Pat Gaunce, and Dr. David Zamierowski. This group was established due to a variety of interests and associations to the Department, ranging from resident education to grateful patient appreciation. Under the direction of our Chairman, Dr. Doug Girod, the involvement of this board was instrumental in the success of many external outreach programs related to the Department. In 2012, new members were added to the board and the Department welcomes their support and is extremely grateful for their efforts as they continue to work as mini ambassadors promoting all aspects of our clinical, research and educational programs.

KU Otolaryngology Advancement BoardFront row (left to right): Dr. William Mangum, Mrs. Pat Gaunce, Dr. Doug Girod ( Chairman), Mr. Steve Patton
Middle row: Ms.Julie Powell, Dr. Dianne Durham, Dr. Kelly Toombs
Back row: Dr. Mike Franklin, Mr. Sam Sails, Dr. Hinrich Staecker

ADVANCEMENT BOARD MEMBERS, 2009-2011 Advancement Board group photoSeated (left to right): Mrs. Pat Gaunce, Dr. Mike Franklin, Dr.Mary Zamierowski
Standing: Chairman Dr. Doug Girod, Mr. Steve Patton, Dr. Julie Veatch, Dr. Dianne Durham, Dr. Terry Tsue,
Mrs. Jari Buck, Dr. David Zamierowski. Not pictured: Dr. Oscar Pinsker

Learn more about the department by selecting a topic at the left.

Last modified: Feb 20, 2014