Alpha Omega Alpha Helen H. Glaser Student Essay Competition - Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society instituted this competition to encourage medical students to write creative narratives or scholarly essays relevant to medicine.  Authors must be enrolled at medical schools with active AOA chapters (Class of 2016 or later), but need not be members of AOA.  Only one entry may be submitted by each student.  Prizes:  $2,000 first, $750 second, $500 third, and honorable mention awards of $250 each.  Deadline for entries is January 31st.  Winners will be announced no later than June 1st.  Website:

The Association of Women Psychiatrists is pleased to sponsor the Leah J. Dickstein, M.D. Award. The recipient of the award will be expected to attend the Annual Meeting (in conjunction with the American Psychiatric Association meeting) in San Francisco during the month of May, to receive this award and to present her work. She will receive $1,000 to help defray the expenses of attending the meeting (with any remainder to be used at the student's discretion). The winner will also receive a plaque and be invited to join the award committee for the following year. The award is open to female medical students who have demonstrated superior academic achievement, creativity, and leadership. Examples of appropriate disciplines or genres include: service or clinical aspects of medicine; science research; or excellence in art, music, literature, etc. Interested students must be nominated by their medical school.  The deadline for submission of application materials is early March. Website:

Mensa Education and Research Foundation Scholarship Essay Contest - awards ranging from $300 to $1,000 are made on the basis of an essay of fewer than 550 words, which describes the applicant's career, vocational or academic goals toward which the scholarship is to provide aid. It is not necessary for the applicant to be a member of Mensa. The scholarship application deadline is usually in early to mid January. Website:

Michael E. DeBakey Medical Student Poetry Award - This annual contest honors the pre-eminent cardiovascular surgeon, pioneering medical scientist, gifted medical educator, prolific author and scholar, and passionate advocate of optimal healthcare throughout the world. Dr. Michael E. DeBakey has long advocated a role for the humanities in medical education and in the development of a full, enriching intellectual life. Submission of original poetry by medical undergraduates currently enrolled in accredited U.S. medical schools is welcome. Deadline: late January.

Rubin-Glasgow Essay Award - Presented to an AMWA student member for the best essay of approximately 1,000 words identifying a woman physician who has been a significant role model.  The author of the winning essay receives $1,000 and a plaque presented at AMWA's annual meeting.  Essay should be of publishable quality, typed and double-spaced. Title page to include: name, address, phone, email and name of your medical school. For more information email  or call 866-564-2483. Deadline is May 31.

Stanley M. Kaplan Essay Contest - Entries may include original research, review articles, case reports or topic essays. Judging will be based on originality, creativity, knowledge of psychiatry and contributions to understanding important problems in any of the biopsychosocial dimensions of psychiatry.  Cash prize of $500 and $250 each to two runners-up.  Deadline is mid- June.  Contact: Christina Gibson at

William Carlos Williams Poetry Competition - Sponsored by the Human Values in Medicine Program of the Northeastern Ohio Universities College of Medicine. Entries must be postmarked no later than December 31. Each participating student is permitted three entries. Poems must be typed on 8.5 x 11 inch paper. Poems must be written in English, cannot exceed 750 words, and can reflect medical as well as nonmedical subjects. The top three poets will be awarded $300, $200 and $100 respectively. Winners will be invited to NEOUCOM in April to read their poems. Website:

William Osler Medal Student Essay Contest - Awarded for the best unpublished essay on a medico-historical subject written by a student enrolled in a school of medicine or osteopathy. Essays appropriate for consideration may pertain either to the historical development of a contemporary medical problem or to a topic within health sciences of a discrete past period.  Entries due in mid January. The writer of the winning essay will be invited to attend a conference where the medal will be presented. Reasonable travel expenses provided and free two year membership in the AAHM, American Association for the History of Medicine. Website:

Last modified: Dec 03, 2015