Medical Alumni Innovative Teaching Fund


The Medical Alumni Innovative Teaching Fund (MAITF), supported by the KU Medical Alumni Association, provides funding to KU School of Medicine faculty to encourage major innovation in teaching and evaluation in medical student education at the University of Kansas School of Medicine. The Office of Medical Education and Academy of Medical Educators manage the proposal call, advise faculty on development of proposals, and with participation from the KU Medical Alumni Association, review proposals and provide notification of award.

The KU Medical Alumni Association is providing increased funding in the amount of $125,000 for this grant cycle. Potential funding per award is up to $15,000 for the one-year funding cycle. Faculty salary support may be requested, not to exceed 20% of the overall award. Awards are non-renewable.

MAITF Proposal Requirements:

  • Application (maximum 7 pages)
  • Curriculum Vitae from key project personnel
  • Letter of Support from Department Chair
  • Letter of Support from Module/Clerkship Director(s) if applicable 

Address proposals to:

The Medical Alumni Innovative Teaching Fund Selection Committee

Proposals must be submitted by January 30, 2015.  Submission must be electronic by attaching to:

Criteria for evaluation of proposals:

  • Educational merit                         
  • Synergy with other curricular components
  • Potential for use and further development
  • Plans for continuation
  • Potential for dissemination
  • Administration and management efficiency
  • Strategy for evaluation
  • Budget strategy


All KU School of Medicine faculty members are eligible for funding.

Last modified: Oct 21, 2014
Call for Proposals

Applications due:
January 30, 2015

Technical Assistance Workshop:
December 3, 2014
:00 - 1:00 p.m.

Notification of grant award
at Academy of Medical Educators Spring Event
March 11, 2015

Funding cycle:
July 1, 2015 - June 30, 2016

MAITF Application (Word)

 Medical Alumni Innovative Teaching Fund (MAITF) Recipients